Dhawan To Captain India in Sri Lanka

He Will Lead Team Blue In The Limited-Overs Tour 

For the ICC World Test Championship and five-match series to be played by India, 20 players have been selected, with Shikhar Dhawan given the captaincy. He will be leading the not-so-experienced squad known for the limited in the upcoming Sri Lanka tours.

Dhawan will be leading this second squad as the main team continues to play in England. The main group, led by Virat Kohli, is getting ready for the Inaugural World Championship final against New Zealand. After this, they will have a five-Test series against England. This will be Shikhar Dhawan’s first time as a captain, and he admits it is going to be a challenge; however, India’s new captain is more than happy to take it on. During a virtual press conference, Shikhar said his team is good, and there is confidence and positivity that they will perform well. Meanwhile, his vice-captain will be Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who is a fast bowler. 

The Sri Lanka tour consists of six matches, including three ODI to be played on July 13th, 16th, and 18th, followed by three T20I which will be played on July 21st, 23rd, and 25th. The coach of this squad is going to be Rahul Dravid, who used to be captain of the Indian team. 

The 20-man squad includes five uncapped players: Chetan Sakariya, Devdutt Padikkal, Nitish Rana, K Gowtham, and Ruturaj Gaikwad. These players had a great showing in the last two IPL seasons and were rewarded with their maiden call-up to the Indian squad. Gaikwad and Padikkal have had wonderful seasons playing as openers at Chennai Super Kings and the Royal Challengers Bangalore, respectively. Padikkal became the first Indian player to hit four consecutive List A centuries while opening for Karnataka during the domestic Vijay Hazare 50-over tournament this year. He has 668 runs in 21 IPL debuts at an average of 33.40 and a strike rate of 131.75. 

Rana has been a regular starter for the Kolkata Knight Riders for several seasons, while Sakariya, a pacer, made an impressive start to his career with the Rajasthan Royals in the short-lived 2021 edition. 

The 20-man squad has also added five net bowlers, including Simarjeet Singh, who will also be with the squad for the Sri Lanka tour 2021. 

Manish Pandey and Prithvi Shaw are now back in the field, but it’s not the same for Shreyas Iyer, meaning that he is yet to recover from his shoulder injury. Also, the duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Chahal have been included in the squad. The Pandya brothers, Hardik and Krunal, have also been selected to join, as well as Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson, who are the squad’s wicket-keeper batsmen. 

The venue for all matches is R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo. 

The full Indian squad for the Sri Lanka tours includes Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Ishan Kisha, Krunal Pandya, Chetan Sakariya, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav. Sanju Samson, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, K Gowtham, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy, Rahul Chahar, Yazvendra Chahal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Manish Pandey

Net bowlers; Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, R Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

Stay tuned to learn more about your favorite team and players. 

Reference Resource:

  1. https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/sl-vs-ind-2021-shikhar-dhawan-to-captain-india-on-limited-overs-tour-of-sri-lanka-1265911
  2. https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2169468
  3. https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/sl-vs-ind-2021-shikhar-dhawan-to-captain-india-on-limited-overs-tour-of-sri-lanka-1265911

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *