Everything You Need To Know About Bangladesh Squad for T20 World Cup 2021

The ICC T20I World cup is scheduled in the United Arab Emirates and Oman from October to November. Bangladesh is among the teams participating, and on Thursday, they named their 15-member squad that will represent the team. The squad is being led by non-other than Mahmudullah. They will start their matches in round 1 qualifiers in Group B. they are in the same category as Papua New Guinea, Oman, and Scotland.

In the ongoing T20Is, Bangladesh managed to win against New Zealand after they had taken down Australia 4-1 in a home series. The selectors of the squad decided to retain most of the players in the squad as they let go of four players. The players that were left out include Taijui Islam, Aminul Islam, and Mosaddek Hossein. The fourth player, Rubel Hossain, was sent as a reserve for the marquee event.

Players like Tamim Iqbal will not be playing in the T20 World Cup Bangladesh team squad. He had opted out after he had missed out on several games in the format. Bangladesh first played their T20I World Cup in 1999, but their first success came in 2005 after beating Australia. Since then, they have won several titles and championships under the same captaincy. In this year’s World Cup, there are high chances that they will be taking the trophy home.

Bangladesh schedule 

According to the T20 World Cup schedule 2021, Bangladesh will play their first T20I match on 17th October against Scotland. In Muscat at 7:30 pm. On 19th October, they will meet with Oman in Muscat at 7:30 pm. The third match will be on 21st October against Paua New Guinea in Muscat at 3:30 pm. Finally, the fourth game will be on 23rd October against Scotland in Abu Dhabi at 3:30 pm.

Bangladesh Squad for T20I World Cup

The squad representing Bangladesh consists of 15 players. The squad is highly regarded as the best, with the best hand-picked players at the top of the game. The squad is hardworking, and they would not give up victory easily. Below is the 15-member squad.

Led by the captain, Shakib al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Naim, Shariful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Saifuddin, Nurul Hasan, and Taskin Ahmed.


Aminul Islam, Rubel Hossain

Bangladesh Captain and Coach Name

Bangladesh team is all set to take on any team during the T20 World Cup. The dedication and morale they have might give them the victory in the tournament. The team’s current captain is Mahmud Ullah. The all-rounder is famously known for his batting skills. The team is backed up with the best coach, Russell Domingo. The coach is recorded to have played 124 Test series, which he won 15, and his first victory was against Zimbabwe.

The captain stated that their strength of the matches has always been on their all-rounders and the bowlers. He also added that their batsmen are also pretty good and that their team is well-balanced. With the right effort put in the right place, Bangladesh is sure to win the ICC T20I World Cup  2021.

Reference Links:

  1. https://www.sportsunfold.com/bangladesh-squad-for-t20-world-cup-2021/
  2. https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cricket/bangladesh-t20-world-cup-2021-team-squad-list-mahmudullah-shakib-mushfiqur-mustafizur-uae/article36376148.ece