Topic: Top 7 Batsmen with the Highest Score in an Individual Inning in the IPL

When McCullum blasted superb 158 runs in the inaugural IPL match in 2008, the tone was set for a batsmen-dominated league. Fourteen years on, IPL continues to witness some exceptional batting performances from some exceptional batsmen. Here’re the 7 best individual innings.

Table 1.0: The highest individual scores in IPL matches 




Strike Rate 




Chris Gayle

175*/ 66


Pune Warriors 

M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru


Brendon McCullum

158*/ 73


Royal Challengers Bangalore 

M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 


AB de Villiers

133* / 59 


Mumbai Indians 

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai


KL Rahul

132* / 69


Royal Challengers Bangalore

Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai


AB de Villiers

129* / 52 


Gujarat Lions 

M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore


Chris Gayle

128* / 62 


Delhi Daredevils 

Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi 


Rishabh Pant

128* / 63


Sunrisers Hyderabad 

Feroz Shah Kotla, New Delhi

1. Chris Gayle: 175*

Christopher Gayle can be destructive on his day, and the now-defunct, Pune Warriors learn it the hard way. The ‘Universe Boss’ was at his belligerent best, hitting 175 off 66 balls, which tol date remains the highest individual score not just in IPL but also in T20 cricket on whole. Gayle’s unbeaten knock included 17 sixes and 13 fours, helping his team, RCB to a colossal total (263/5) and a 130-run victory. The venue was Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, and the year, 2013. 

2. Brendon McCullum: 158*

With two star-studded teams, Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore, facing each other in the first-ever IPL match, there couldn’t be a better way to kick-start a league. As if the occasion wasn’t special enough, Brendon McCullum decided to make it a bit more special. He thrashed unbeaten 158 in 73 deliveries with 13 sixes and 10 fours to guide his team to a mammoth total of 222. Yet again the venue was Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. 

3. AB de Villiers: 133*

On May 10, 2015, at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, AB de Villiers took Mumbai Indians bowlers to task with a brilliant display of 360-degree batting. Hitting 19 fours and 04 sixes, he notched up unbeaten 133 runs in 59 balls – the third-highest individual score in IPL history. The contest also went into the record books for the 215 run partnership – the highest in the IPL history. The partnership featured AB and skipper Kohli who also ended up 82 not out in 50 balls.

4. KL Rahul: 132*

KL Rahul is all class and can be deadly on his day. The KXIP skipper blasted his way to 132 off 69 balls, the highest individual score by an Indian in IPL and overall 4th highest IPL individual score ever. Dropped twice by Virat Kohli, Rahul continued his assault against a hapless RCB bowling attack, hitting 14 boundaries and 7 sixes at Dubai International Cricket Stadium in 2020.

5. AB de Villiers: 129*

AB de Villiers makes it to the list of top 7 highest individual scores yet again with unbeaten 129 runs at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore in IPL 2016. At the receiving end were now defunct, Gujarat Lions. Studded with 10 boundaries and 12 sixes, the inning was remarkable for its strike rate of 248.08, the highest on the list. Another standout performer in the contest was skipper Virat Kohli with a superb 109 runs of just 55 balls, striking at a rate of 198.98.

6. Chris Gayle: 128*

The ‘Universe Boss’ went berserk yet again, hitting 128 in 62 balls against Delhi Daredevils at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi in the 2012 edition. Gayle started slow, scoring just one run in the first 9 balls he faced, but went on overdrive as the innings progressed. He ended up bludgeoning 07 boundaries and 13 sixes and striking at an impressive rate of 206.45. 

7. Rishabh Pant: 128*

In his short yet impressive career, Rishabh Pant has made a reputation for fabulous stroke play. What fortified the reputation was the stunning 128 run knock in the 2018 IPL edition against the Sunrisers Hyderabad at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi. The wicketkeeper-batsman walked onto the ground with 21 runs on the board for the loss of 2 wickets. He took the opposition bowlers to the cleaners, hammering 15 boundaries and 7 sixes in the 63-ball knock.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *