Everything You Need To Know About Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings Overview
Full Name Punjab Kings (PBKS)
City Mohali, Punjab, India
Home Ground PCA Stadium, Mohali
Owner Punjab Kings owner – Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, Mohit Burman, Karan Paul
Captain K L Rahul
Coach Anil Kumble
Colours Red, Light Grey

Bollywood actress Preity Zinta co-owned Punjab Kings. The Punjab kings team was formerly known as Kings XI Punjab. In the first season of the IPL, the team was captained by Yuvraj Singh. The team started tremendously and finished fourth on the table. Let us know more about the Punjab Kings team 2021.

Punjab Kings Team Player List for IPL 2021

K L Rahul captains the current squad. The team has been able to retain 16 of its former players while releasing nine players. Some of the critical Punjab Kings players included from previous seasons are Chris Gayle, Mohammad Shami and Mayank Agarwal. Some new additions to the Kings XI Punjab team 2021 list are Riley Meredith, Shahrukh Khan, Utkarsh Singh and Saurabh Kumar.

Name Playing Role
Nicholas Pooran (R) Batsman
Chris Gayle (R) Batsman
Mayank Agarwal (R) Batsman
Sarfaraz Khan (R) Batsman
Dawid Malan Batsman
Shahrukh Khan Batsman
KL Rahul (c) (R) Wicket Keeper
Prabhsimran Singh (R) Wicket Keeper
Mandeep Singh (R) All-Rounder
Deepak Hooda (R) All-Rounder
Moises Henriques All-Rounder
Jalaj Saxena All-Rounder
Utkarsh Singh All-Rounder
Harpreet Brar (R) Bowler
Saurabh Kumar Bowler
Arshdeep Singh (R) Bowler
Jhye Richardson Bowler
Riley Meredith Bowler
Mohammed Shami (R) Bowler
Ravi Bishnoi (R) Bowler
Darshan Nalkande (R) Bowler
Ishan Porel (R) Bowler
Chris Jordan (R) Bowler
Murugan Ashwin (R) Bowler

The PBKS Team is owned by Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, Mohit Burman and Karan Paul. The Kings XI Punjab squad 2021 is captained by K L Rahul while Anil Kumble coaches it. The net worth of the team amounts to $40 million. The colour representing the team is orange. The team is based in the Mohali city of Punjab. Therefore, the home ground of the team is the PCA Stadium in Mohali.

Punjab Kings Team History

The PBKS had a change of captaincy in almost every season of the IPL. Yuvraj Singh is the Punjab Kings captain for the first two years, followed by Sangakkara and Jayawardene in the next couple of years. It was AC Gilchrist’s turn from 2011 to 2013. In 2015, Sehwag took the responsibility. KL Rahul was finally appointed as the captain following the brief captaincy of Murali Vijay, Glen Maxwell and Ravichandran Ashwin. KL Rahul is the current Punjab Kings captain.

Punjab Kings Team Performance

Year Indian Premier League League Standing
2008 Semifinalists (3rd) 2nd out of 8
2009 5th 5th out of 8
2010 8th 8th out of 8
2011 5th 5th out of 10
2012 6th 6th out of 9
2013 6th 6th out of 9
2014 Runners-up 1st out of 8
2015 8th 8th out of 8
2016 8th 8th out of 8
2017 5th 5th out of 8
2018 7th 7th out of 8
2019 6th 6th out of 8
2020 6th 6th out of 8

The team won the first five games in the 2014 season of the IPL. But even after some impressive performances, the team got eliminated in the semi-finals. In 2015, Sehwag led the team to the final for the first time. However, they failed to beat Gambhir’s Kolkata Knight Riders. Since then, the team has been unable to leave a significant mark in the IPL. The team underwent some changes in the previous year. But PBKS did not deliver any positive outcomes. They finished sixth last season out of the eight teams that were a part of the tournament.

Punjab Kings Team Awards And Achievements

PBKS might not have left any significant impact on the IPL. But the team captain, KL Rahul, successfully managed to win the orange cap last season. He scored a total of 670 runs after playing in 14 matches throughout the season. The 29-year-old hit five half-centuries and one century against RCB. The highest score of Rahul in the 2020 season was an unbeaten 132 against RCB.

Punjab Kings Captains List of All Editions of IPL

Name First Match Last Match Total Match Won Lost Tie Win%
Yuvraj Singh 2008 2009 29 17 12 0 58.62
Kumar Sangakkara 2010 2010 13 3 9 1 26.92
Mahela Jayawardene 2010 2010 1 0 1 0 0
Adam Gilchrist 2011 2013 34 17 17 0 50
David Hussey 2012 2013 12 6 6 0 50
George Bailey 2014 2015 35 18 17 0 51.42
Virender Sehwag 2015 2015 1 0 0 1 50
David Miller 2016 2016 6 1 5 0 16.66
Murali Vijay 2016 2016 8 3 5 0 37.5
Glenn Maxwell 2017 2017 14 7 7 0 50
Ravichandran Ashwin 2018 2019 28 12 16 0 42.85
KL Rahul 2020 2020 14 6 8 0 42.85

Ending Note

The Punjab Kings 2021 team players list seems impressive with a bunch of young talents. Do you think that this season of the IPL will be successful for the Punjab Kings?