Everything You Need To Know About Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders Overview
Full Name Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
City Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Home Ground Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Owner Knight Riders Group Owner

  • Red Chillies Entertainment (55%)
  • Mehta Group (45%)
Captain Eoin Morgan
Coach Brendon McCullum
Colours Golden, Black
IPL Wins 2 (2012, 2014)

The Kolkata Knight Riders team is owned by Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla and her husband, Jay Mehta. The franchise gained immense popularity due to its association with Bollywood celebrities. They qualified for the playoffs for the first time in 2011. And in the subsequent year, they emerged as the winner by defeating Chennai Super Kings. Let us know more about the mighty knights of IPL.

Kolkata Knight Riders Team Player List for IPL 2021

The Kolkata knight riders team 2021 seems to have a pretty exciting line-up. The team has been able to successfully retain 17of its previous players. Among the retained players are Eoin Morgan, Andre Russel, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, and Shubman Gill. The team has added Harbhajan Singh and Karun Nair. Even though they have left behind their best years, they will add some experience to the team.

Name Playing Role
Eoin Morgan (R) Batsman
Karun Nair Batsman
Nitish Rana (R) Batsman
Shubman Gill (R) Batsman
Gurkeerat Singh Mann (R) Batsman
Rahul Tripathi (R) Batsman
Dinesh Karthik (R) Wicket Keeper
Sheldon Jackson Wicket Keeper
Sunil Narine (R) All-Rounder
Andre Russell (R) All-Rounder
Shakib Al Hasan All-Rounder
Ben Cutting All-Rounder
Pawan Negi All-Rounder
Venkatesh Iyer All-Rounder
Pat Cummins (R) Bowler
Harry Gurney (R) Bowler
Varun Chakaravarthy (R) Bowler
Lockie Ferguson (R) Bowler
Kuldeep Yadav (R) Bowler
Kamlesh Nagarkoti (R) Bowler
Shivam Mavi (R) Bowler
Prasidh Krishna (R) Bowler
Sandeep Warrier (R) Bowler
Harbhajan Singh Bowler
Vaibhav Arora Bowler

Among the eight new players purchased by the team in this year’s auction, six were domestic players. The franchise bought Shakib-al-Hasan, a Bangladeshi all-rounder, for 3.2 crores. The other overseas player was Ben Cutting, for a base price of Rs. 75 Lakhs. Sheldon Jackson, Vaibhav Arora and Venkatesh Iyer were the other new additions to the KKR team.

The Kolkata knight riders team 2021 boasts of some outstanding talents. The team will rely upon the performances of Eoin Morgan, Pat Cummins, Shubman Gill and Dinesh Karthik. The captaincy of Eoin Morgan will play a key role in managing the performances of the team.

Kolkata Knight Riders Team History

Sourav Ganguly Kolkata Knight Riders captained the team for the first three seasons. The team at that point boasted of talents like Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum, Ricky Ponting and Shoaib Akhtar. However, the team’s performance kept deteriorating. KKR bid goodbye to Ganguly in 2011, and Gautam Gambhir stepped in as the captain. Under Kolkata Knight Riders Team Gautam Gambhir captaincy, the team tasted success twice, once in 2012 and again in 2014.

But in 2018, KKR did not pick up its most successful captain. Dinesh Karthik was named the captain in that season and led the next season as well. After that, Eoin Morgan was made the captain of KKR, with Karthik as the vice-captain. In the later seasons, KKR gave chances to budding talents like Ankit Rajpoot and Jaydev Unadkat.

Year Indian Premier League League Standing
2008 League stage 6th out of 8
2009 League stage 8th out of 8
2010 League stage 6th out of 8
2011 Playoffs 4th out of 10
2012 Champions 1st out of 9
2013 League stage 7th out of 9
2014 Champions 1st out of 8
2015 League stage 5th out of 8
2016 Playoffs 4th out of 8
2017 Playoffs 3rd out of 8
2018 Playoffs 3rd out of 8
2019 League stage 5th out of 8
2020 League stage 5th out of 8

The KKR team has been giving consistent performance over the last few seasons with subtle ups and downs. But in 2012, Sunil Narine’s magic enabled the team to win the trophy for the first time. KKR finished fifth in 2015 as well as 2020. But in 2016 and 2017, KKR finished fourth and third, respectively.

Kolkata Knight Riders Team Awards And Achievements

KKR has many awards and achievements apart from being two times champion. KKR comes fourth in the list of highest scores in a match with 245 runs in a 2018 match against Kings XI Punjab. The team ranks third when it comes to winning with a considerable margin of runs. Sunil Narine is the third player to achieve the fastest fifties in IPL.

  • Champions: 2012
  • Champions: 2014
  • Most Successive wins in a single Indian Premier League season- 9 (2014).
  • Most Successive wins in the Indian Premier League-10 (2014-15).
  • KKR is fourth in the list of the highest score in a match (245/6 vs KXIP, 2018).
  • KKR holds the record for restricting their opponent. (49 vs RCB, 2017)

Ending Note

KKR has impressed its fan base over the last few seasons. The Kolkata Knight Riders players list of 2021 seems to favour the team going big this season.