Mumbai IndiansMI 14 7 7 0
Chennai Super KingsCSK 14 9 5 0
Royal Challengers BangaloreRCB 14 9 5 0
Delhi CapitalsDC 14 10 4 0
Punjab KingsPK 14 6 8 0


Player Innings Runs
Virat Kohli 191 6076
Shikhar Dhawan 183 5577
Suresh Raina 195 5491
Rohit Sharma 202 5480
David Warner 148 5447

Top 10 Players who Made the Fastest Centuries in IPL

IPL has provided us entertainment for 14 seasons with high-quality cricket. Scoring a century in T20 is a difficult task as there are only 120 balls available in total for one inning. Till now, there have been 68 centuries scored by batsmen from different franchises. Some centuries were made at a faster strike rate than others which had helped teams put on a massive total on the board, making it virtually impossible to chase. There are other times when a player has scored a century to help his team chase down a target. Can you guess the player who has scored the fastest hundred in the IPL? Hint: The same batsman has scored the first century in international T20 cricket.

  • No 1: Chris Gayle- 30 balls

Chris Gayle became the 1st batsman in T20 cricket to reach 14000 runs and is still the most dangerous batsman ever. He holds many batting records in T20 cricket, which is still not broken. Gayle has the fastest century in IPL in just 30 balls. He played this once-in-a-lifetime knock against PWI in the 2013 season and helped RCB to amass 263/5, which is the highest team total in IPL to date.

  • No 2: Yusuf Pathan- 37 balls

The former middle-order batsman of India, Yusuf Pathan, made a great name in the IPL in his initial years playing for RR. He has played 174 matches and scored 3204 runs at a strike rate of 142.97. Pathan scored the 2nd fastest century ever in IPL in 37 balls against MI in 2010.

  • No 3: David Miller- 38 balls

The left-hand middle-order batsman David Miller had great initial 3 seasons from 2013- 2015. He has played some blistering knocks for Punjab and is currently playing for RR. He has played 89 matches and scored 1974 runs at a strike rate of 136.51. Miller has made the 3rd fastest century in IPL from 38 balls against RCB in 2013.

  • No 4: Adam Gilchrist- 42 balls

Arguably the best wicketkeeper-batsman in cricket history, Adam Gilchrist played for six seasons in IPL from 2008-2013. He has helped Deccan Chargers win their first IPL title in 2009. Gilchrist has played 80 matches and scored 2069 runs at a strike rate of 138.39. He scored the 4th fastest century in 42 balls against MI in 2008.

  • No 5: ABD – 43 balls 

Fondly known as Mr 360, AB de Villiers has been the best batsman of RCB along with Virat Kohli. He has played great knocks over a long period for RCB. He has scored 5162 runs from 184 matches at an impressive strike rate of 151.68. ABD has scored the 5th fastest century in IPL from 43 balls against Gujarat Lions in 2016.

  • No 6: David Warner – 43 balls

The best overseas batsman of IPL, David Warner, has been very consistent for SRH winning 3 orange caps for the highest run-scorer in a season 3 times. He was also a terrific captain winning an IPL title for SRH in 2016. He has scored 5449 runs in a total of 150 matches at a strike rate of 139.96 with 4 centuries and 50 half-centuries. Warner has scored the 8th fastest century in IPL from 43 balls against KKR in 2017.

  • No 7: Sanath Jayasuriya – 45 balls

The legendary batsman of Sri Lanka, Sanath Jayasuriya, started with a bang in the 2008 IPL season scoring 518 runs in 14 matches for MI. He has scored 772 runs in 30 matches at a strike rate of 145. 11. He has scored the 7th fastest century in IPL from 45 balls against CSK in the first season of 2008.

  • No 8: Mayank Agarwal- 45 balls

The PBKS opener Mayank Agarwal has been the backbone of the batting along with KL Rahul. He has played many useful knocks for PBKS. He has been a high scorer in the last two seasons, just behind KL Rahul. He has scored the 8th fastest century in the IPL against RR from 45 balls in the 2020 season.   

  • No 9: Murali Vijay- 46 balls 

The stylish opener of CSK had terrific seasons in 2010 and 2011, where he scored 458 runs and 434, respectively. In his IPL career, which began in 2009, Vijay has scored 2619 runs in 109 matches at a strike rate of 121.87 with 2 centuries and 13 half-centuries. Vijay has scored the 9th fastest century in IPL from 46 balls against RR in the 2010 season.

  • No10: Chris Gayle- 46 balls 

The Universe boss Chris Gayle has been a run machine in IPL from 2009 onwards. He has played 142 matches and scored 4965 runs at a superb strike rate of 148.96. He has made 6 centuries and 31 half-centuries in his IPL career and may play for one or two more seasons if he maintains his fitness. Gayle has scored the 10th fastest century in IPL from 46 balls against PBKS in 2011.

Chris Gayle has scored the fastest hundred in the IPL in just 30 balls, followed by Yusuf Pathan in 37 balls. T20 has always been the most challenging format to score a hundred, so batters who do that are worth gold. Hopefully, we will see many more hundreds in the IPL, which will

entertain us for coming years.

Reference Link:

  1. https://www.iplt20.com/stats/all-time/fastest-centuries

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *