IPL 2008-2020: A complete list of Orange Cap winners in the Indian Premier League history

The Indian Premier League is set to be held for the 14th time since 2008 and with every passing year, it has gone to be bigger and better. Each year sees further improvement from the other with both the bat and the ball and that is why the IPL is held in such high regard around the world for its quality and how much it prepares young players for the crunch situations in games.

This year’s IPL will begin on April 9 and as we get closer to the mega-event, we take a look at the highest run scorers from each of the previous 13 editions from 2008 to 2020.

Here is the list of every ‘Orange Cap’ winner since the inaugural edition of 2008.


Playing for Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings), Australia’s Shaun Marsh was the highest run-scorer in the tournament in the first edition ever.

Marsh hammered 616 runs from 11 innings at an average of 68.44 and a strike-rate of 139.68. He slammed one century and five fifties and registered a highest score of 115.


Matthew Hayden was the highest run-getter in the second edition of the IPL, which was held in South Africa.

The Chennai Super Kings opener accumulated 572 runs from 12 innings at an average of 52 and a strike-rate of 144.81. His highest score was 89 and he had hit five fifties that year. 


Sachin Tendulkar was the highest run-getter in 2010 with 618 runs from 15 innings and had a highest score of 89.

Tendulkar had an average of 47.53 and a strike-rate of 132.61 and hit five fifties as well.

CHRIS GAYLE (2011 & 2012)

In 2011, Chris Gayle 608 runs from 12 innings after moving to Royal Challengers Bangalore from Kolkata Knight Riders. Gayle hit the ground running and hit three fifties and two centuries as well with a highest score of 107. He was averaging 67.55 and had a strike-rate of 183.13. 

In 2012, Gayle bettered himself and smashed 733 runs from 14 innings and had a highest score of 128. He averaged 61.08 and had a strike-rate of 160.74. The West Indian hit seven fifties and one century that season. 


Playing for CSK, Michael Hussey hit 733 runs from 17 innings in 2013. He averaged 52.35 and had a strike-rate of 129.5 that year.

Hussey scored six fifties and had a highest score of 95. 


Robin Uthappa starred for Kolkata Knight Riders with the bat at the top of the order in 2014 as he scored 660 runs from 16 innings.

Uthappa averaged 44 and had a strike-rate of 137.78. Uthappa’s top score in 2014 was 83 and he had hit five fifties.


David Warner starred for Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2015 as he scored 562 runs from 14 innings. 

Warner averaged 43.23 and had a strike-rate of 156.54. Warner’s highest score in 2015 was 91 and he had hit seven fifties.


2016 was Virat Kohli’s dream year as he only fell short of breaking the 1000-run mark in a single season by 27 runs. Kohli ended the year with 973 runs from 16 innings — which is still the highest in a single season.

The RCB captain averaged 81.08 and had a strike-rate of 152.03 that year and had slammed four centuries with his highest being 113. He also hit even fifties.


Warner top-scored in 2017 as SRH won the title for the first time in their history under his guidance.

The Aussie opener hit 641 runs from 14 innings at an average of 58.27. His strike-rate that year was 141.81 and he had a highest score of 126. Warner also hit four fifties and a century in 2017.


In 2018, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson topped the charts with 735 runs from 17 innings at an average of 52.5 and a strike-rate of 142.44.

Williamson slammed eight fifties that season with a highest score of 84.


Warner once again topped the charts in 2019 with 692 runs from 12 innings at an average of 69.2 and a strike-rate of 143.87. 

The left-hander slammed eight fifties and one century with a highest of 100.

KL Rahul (2020)

KL Rahul led Kings XI Punjab from the front in 2020 as he ended as the top-scorer in the tournament with 670 runs from 14 innings in the United Arab Emirates.

Rahul averaged 55.83 and had a strike-rate of 129.34. He hit five fifties and one century and had the highest score of 132*.

Fans are eagerly awaiting the matches to see who will get the coveted orange cap this year. 




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *