Everything You Need To Know About New Zealand Squad for T20 World Cup 2021

Guided by Kane Williamson, New Zealand looks all set to put its right foot forward in the T20 World Cup 2021. Every time this team enters the ICC cricket events, they bring in something fresh and creative to succeed in the tournament. The cricket experts and fans admire this team’s talents and hard work they always put into their matches. Even in limited-overs cricket matches, the team is constantly doing well for the past several years.

In 2015 and 2017, they have reached the finals of the world cup, including the ODI World Cup. Not just that but even in the longest format of the game, the team performed well. Lately, it joined the finals of WTC 2021, which was played against India. In this opening championship, they comprehensively won the title.

The team showed poor performance during their recent T20I series played against Bangladesh. However, after a poor performance in the initial matches of the series, Kiwis tried to challenge the determined Bengal Tigers. For, New Zealand eventually lost the series 3-2 and failed to impress their fans and cricket lovers. Though glancing at the performance of New Zealand in the last few matches, it seems that they are quite prepared to grab the T20 World Cup trophy.

New Zealand is placed in the Group B of the T20 World Cup 2021. The team will play against Pakistan, Afghanistan and India in its initial matches. Significantly, fans are expecting new players like Kyle Jamison and Devon Conway to perform well in the World Cup. On the other hand, seasoned players like Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill and Trent Bolt will assist the team through their experience.

New Zealand T20 World Cup Squad:

Irrespective of the format, New Zealand could not be undervalued because it is guided by Kane Williamson. Martin Guptill is known to be a powerful batsman. Other powerful batsmen in the squad include Glenn Phillips and Devon Conway.

The Full Squad Is As Below:

  • Kane Williamson
  • Todd Astle
  • Trent Boult
  • Mark Chapman
  • Devon Conway
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Martin Guptill
  • Kyle Jamieson
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Jimmy Neesham
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Tim Seifert
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Southee
  • Adam Milne

New Zealand T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule:

Date Match Time Venue
October 26, 2021 New Zealand vs. Pakistan 7:30:00 PM (IST) Sharjah
October 31, 2021 New Zealand vs. India 7:30:00 PM (IST) Dubai
October 3, 2021 New Zealand vs. Qualifier (B1) 3:30:00 PM (IST) Dubai
November 5, 2021 New Zealand vs. Qualifier (A2) 3:30:00 PM (IST) Sharjah
November 7, 2021 New Zealand vs. Afghanistan 3:30:00 PM (IST) Abu Dhabi


Reference Resource: 

  1. https://tsportsbd.com/nz-t20-world-cup-squad-list/