Everything You Need To Know About Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup 2021

The original squad selected for the Sri Lankan T20 World Cup squad was recently revised with the addition of five new names and they are as follows –

  • Pathum Nissanka
  • Minod Bhanuka
  • Ashen Bandara
  • Lakshan Sandakan and
  • Ramesh Mendis.

Previously, Lahiru Madushanka was part of the original squad. But he was dropped because he could not travel as he is recovering from a sports-related injury.

The Sri Lankan squad will be led by Dasun Shanaka.

Revisions in the originally selected squad were accompanied by omissions of names like –

  • Niroshan Dickwella
  • Kusal Mendis
  • Danushka Gunathilaka

These 3 cricketers were banned after they broke COVID – 19 protocols during their tour of England in July 2021.

Kusal Perera returned to his role as the designated wicketkeeper that led to the omission of Minod Bhanuka from the final squad list.

Maheesh Theekshana is a 21-year-old off-spinner and a part of the squad. He made his T20I debut during the match against South Africa where he dismissed Heinrich Klaasen.

The squad also has formidable left-arm spinners like Praveen Jayawickrama, who made his international cricket debut earlier this year. Jayawickrama performed well in his Test debut against Bangladesh in April, where he picked up eleven wickets in the match. He also has 5 ODIs and 5 wickets under his belt.

The finalized Sri Lankan squad also has a strong fast-bowling department all thanks to the inclusion of names like –

  • Dushmantha Chameera
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Chamika Karunaratne.

The squad also named four reserve players and they are as follows –

  • Pulina Tharanga
  • Akila Dananjaya
  • Binura Fernando
  • Lahiru Kumara

The above-mentioned names will replace injured members of the team if such an incident occurs during team Sri Lanka’s participation in the upcoming T20 World Cup.

Squad at a glance

  • Dasun Shanaka (c)
  • Dhananjaya De Silva
  • Kusal Janith Perera
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Avishka Fernando
  • Bhanuka Rajapaksa
  • Charith Asalanka
  • Wanindu Hasaranga
  • Kamindu Mendis
  • Chamika Karunaratne
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Dushmantha Chameera
  • Praveen Jayawickrama
  • Maheesh Theekshana
  • Pathum Nissanka
  • Minod Bhanuka
  • Ashen Bandara
  • Lakshan Sandakan
  • Ramesh Mendis
  • Lahiru Kumara (reserve)
  • Binura Fernando (reserve)
  • Akila Dananjaya (reserve) and
  • Pulina Tharanga (reserve).

Team ranking

The Sri Lankan squad is placed at Group A, alongside Ireland, Namibia, and Netherlands.

Match schedule

Team Sri Lanka will face Namibia on 18th October, and the match will begin at 7:30 PM IST. On 20th October, Sri Lanka will be facing Ireland, and the match will begin at 7:30 PM IST. On the 22nd of October, Sri Lanka will be facing the Netherlands, and the match will begin at 7:30 PM IST.

Current events

The Sri Lankan squad left their homeland in a bid to reach Oman for the upcoming practice matches for the World Cup. They left the island nation on October 4th, and this comes as per the information shared in the official Twitter handle of Sri Lankan cricket. Pictures and a detailed caption were uploaded to the social media platform which was welcomed by countless wishes from Sri Lankan cricket fans.

Sri Lanka will face Oman in two T20 International matches that are scheduled to take place on October 7th and October 9th in Al Amerat.

Team Sri Lanka will begin their T20 World Cup Qualifying campaign on October 18th when they will face Namibia in Abu Dhabi.

Reference Link:

  1.  https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2248532