Everything You Need To Know About Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians Overview
Full Name Mumbai Indians (MI)
City Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Home Ground Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Owner Reliance Industries
Captain Rohit Sharma
Coach Mahela Jayawardene
Colours Blue
IPL Wins 5 (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020)

The Mumbai Indians franchise has been quite successful in the history of IPL. The team tasted their fifth victory in the last season of the IPL. The current squad has many power hitters and youngsters waiting to show their talent on the field. Let us find out more about the Mumbai Indians players 2021.

Mumbai Indians Team Players List 2021

Rohit Sharma captains the current squad of Mumbai Indians. The top-order batsman has been one of the key contributors to the success of Mumbai Indians. The team is one of the most established teams of IPl with no weak links. The winners of the previous season have retained some players like Kieron Pollard and Quinton de Kock. The 2021 auction saw MI brought some minor changes to add variety to the MI team 2021.

Name Playing Role
Rohit Sharma (R) Batsman
SuryaKumar Yadav (R) Batsman
Anmolpreet Singh (R) Batsman
Chris Lynn (R) Batsman
Ishan Kishan (R) Wicket Keeper
Quinton de Kock (R) Wicket Keeper
Aditya Tare (R) Wicket Keeper
Hardik Pandya (R) All-Rounder
Krunal Pandya (R) All-Rounder
Kieron Pollard (R) All-Rounder
James Neesham All-Rounder
Yudhvir Charak All-Rounder
Arjun Tendulkar All-Rounder
Anukul Roy All-Rounder
Jayant Yadav (R) All-Rounder
Nathan Coulter Nile Bowler
Adam Milne Bowler
Piyush Chawla Bowler
Marco Jansen Bowler
Trent Boult (R) Bowler
Jasprit Bumrah (R) Bowler
Mohsin Khan (R) Bowler
Rahul Chahar (R) Bowler

The MI team owners signed Piyush Chawla and Adam Milne for quite a high price. Nathan Coulter-Nile was yet another expensive addition to the team. Arjun Tendulkar, the son of Sachin Tendulkar, being added to the Mumbai Indians team 2021, was no surprise. Some of the other additions to the team were Marco Jansen, James Neesham and Yudhvir Charak.

Mahela Jayawardene coaches the men in blue. The team has five wins to its name. MI can rely upon some of the key players are Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya. Rohit Sharma scored 332 runs in the previous season. And with his 64th century in the T20 format, he is likely to be in good form. De Kock undoubtedly played a significant role in the win of Mumbai Indians in the last two consecutive seasons.

Bumrah can be relied upon by MI to helm the bowling side on his shoulder. Pandya may not have been in his form last season in terms of bowling. But this all-rounder still managed to hammer 281 runs. He makes the middle-order of Mumbai Indians quite vicious with others like Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard.

Mumbai Indians Team History

The team has been initially associated with cricketing legends such as Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Ricky Ponting and Malinga. But even though the team had experienced players, they lacked speed. The rise of Mumbai Indians followed the moment the stalwarts made way for youngsters in the team.

Mumbai Indians Team Performance

Year Indian Premier League Champions League T20
2008 League stage Canceled (DNQ)
2009 League stage DNQ
2010 Runners-up Group stage
2011 Playoffs Champions
2012 Playoffs Group stage
2013 Champions Champions
2014 Playoffs Qualifier stage
2015 Champions Tournament defunct
2016 League stage
2017 Champions
2018 League stage
2019 Champions
2020 Champions

The team of Mumbai Indians comprises well-known players both in terms of batting and bowling. The squad has been delivering successful performances in the last two seasons of the IPL. The team at least qualified to the playoffs except for the first two seasons and in 2016.

Mumbai Indians Awards And Achievements

Mumbai Indians won two seasons of the Champions League apart from lifting the IPL trophy five times. In the last season, Trent Boult was awarded the man of the match of the final due to his outstanding performance.

Mumbai Indians IPL summary

Year Total Wins Losses No result % win Position Summary
2008 14 7 7 0 50.00% 5 League Stage
2009 14 5 8 1 35.71% 7 League Stage
2010 16 11 5 0 68.75% 2 Finalists
2011 16 10 6 0 62.50% 3 Play-offs
2012 17 10 7 0 58.82% 4 Play-offs
2013 19 13 6 0 68.42% 1 Champions
2014 15 7 8 0 46.67% 4 Play-offs
2015 16 10 6 0 62.50% 1 Champions
2016 14 7 7 0 50.00% 5 League Stage
2017 17 12 5 0 70.59% 1 Champions
2018 14 6 8 0 42.86% 5 League Stage
2019 16 11 5 0 68.75% 1 Champions
2020 16 11 5 0 68.75% 1 Champions
Total 204 120 83 1 58.82%

Ending Note

Mumbai Indians team 2021 players list boasts of some incredible talents. With adequate performance from the star players and the debutants, MI can lift the trophy for the third consecutive year.