IPL 2021: Top 5 most successful captains in IPL history

The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League is almost upon us with the first game being played on April 9 between Royal Challengers Bangalore and defending champions Mumbai Indians at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

The teams are almost ready as they practice across the five venues that will host the IPL this year, along with the sixth being Ahmedabad, which will host all the playoff matches and the final.

The 13th edition of the IPL was held in the United Arab Emirates because of the pandemic and Mumbai Indians once again dominated and won the title — their fifth overall and two in a row. Courtesy of the win, Rohit Sharma extended his streak of being the most successful captain in the history of the IPL.

So, as we get ready for another year, we look at the most successful skippers other than Rohit.


Rohit Sharma has won the IPL six times overall, out of which five have come as a captain and player of Mumbai Indians. Rohit also won the title as a player in 2009 with the now-defunct Deccan Chargers in South Africa.

The Mumbaikar has won the title in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020.

In 2013, he was handed over the captaincy mid-season from Ricky Ponting and since then, he has never looked back. MI has become one of the top teams to beat and are one of the favourites this season.

Rohit and MI will now aim to be the only captain and team to win the trophy thrice in a row.


MS Dhoni and Chennai Super Kings are a match made in heaven and despite the separation in between when MS played for Rising Pune Supergiants as CSK were banned.

However, they returned together and, in some style, to win the IPL in 2018 and with what many called a ‘Daddy’s Army’ because of the average age of the squad being well above 30.

After Rohit, Dhoni is the most successful captain in the IPL with three trophies under his bag. CSK have been a regular in the playoffs since the inception of the tournament and made finals at regular intervals as well but could only manage to win it thrice in 2010, 2011 and 2018.


Gautam Gambhir brought hope back to Kolkata Knight Riders after Sourav Ganguly was removed from the helm and not retained in 2011. It was a massive decision by the KKR franchise and had major criticism from the City of Joy but Gambhir’s astute captaincy brought success to the side.

Gambhir led with example and style and formed a great opening act with Robin Uthappa as KKR won the title on the back of it and some Sunil Narine brilliance in 2012 and 2014.

KKR remain the only side other than CSK and MI to win the IPL more than once and both have come under Gambhir’s leadership.


David Warner led the Sunrisers Hyderabad to their maiden title in 2016 and with some panache. He slammed 848 runs from 17 matches as SRH lifted the trophy.

He became the third Australian after Shane Warne and Adam Gilchrist to lead an IPL side to the ultimate prize.


This was nothing but a dream come true as Shane Warne guided a bunch of young and promising stars to lift the trophy for the Jaipur franchise in the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008.

Adam Gilchrist led Deccan Chargers to their maiden and only title a year later in South Africa in 2009.

Till now, only six captains have won the IPL in its 13-year history and the likes of Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) and World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan (KKR), will look to change that and put their name on the list when the tournament gets underway later this month.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *