All You Need to Know About Six Major Badminton Tournaments in India

Badminton has been a popular sport in India played by people of various age groups that include adolescents, youngsters, and adults. Indian shuttlers like Prakash Padukone and Pullela Gopichand made India proud in world badminton championships during the 70s and 80s and had been the flag bearers of the sport during those decades. By the turn of the century, the new generation of millennial badminton stars had risen to prove their mettle in the game. They have brought many medals for India in the international badminton events with their sheer grit and determination to win.

Badminton World Federation’s rankings of 2017 have proved that Indian shuttlers are amongst the top five players in the world in both men’s and women’s competitions. In the women’s section, the likes of Saina Nehwal and P.V. Sindhu have been performing exceptionally well in International Badminton Tournaments while in the men’s section Prannoy H.S., Ajay Jayaram, and B. Sai praneeth have made India proud with their outstanding performances in India and overseas.  

Related Post:

Listed below are some of the major Badminton Tournaments in India:

Premier Badminton League

Started in the year 2013, the Premier Badminton League is India’s only franchise badminton league that has grown to become a famous international level badminton event in India. The first season of the league featured six teams but the event was not held for three years after the initial season. However, it was resumed in 2016 with the active participation of several renowned Indian players like P. V. Sindhu, Saina Nehwal, Prannoy Kumar, and Srikanth Kidambi, and international players of repute like Jan Jorgensen, Son Won-ho, Viktor Axelsen, and others.

All India Inter-Institutional Badminton Tournament

The annual All India Inter-Institutional Badminton Tournament is represented by teams from the Indian public sector companies like Airports Authority of India, Food Corporation of India, Ordnance Factory, Department of Atomic Energy, and Air Force Sports Control Board, Reserve Bank of India, LIC of India, BSNL Sports Board, and Employees State Insurance Corporation.

Sub Junior Indian National Badminton Championships

The Sub Junior National Badminton Championships are staged annually at the end of the year. The tournament is generally divided into two categories: Under 13 and 15. Both boys and girls are eligible to compete in the event that includes singles and doubles players from each state.

Junior Indian National Badminton Championships

Junior Indian National Badminton Championships is an annual competition that allows both boys and girls to participate in the competition. There are common categories of singles and doubles players and mixed doubles are only for the under 19s. Each state is allowed to enter two singles, one double, and one mixed doubles entry in this event.

Indian National Badminton Championships

Indian National Badminton Championships is India’s longest-running domestic badminton event launched in 1936. It was an open competition until 1960 and Prakash Padukone holds the record for the most wins in the tournament with nine wins. Both men and women are eligible to compete in the event in common categories such as singles, doubles, as well as mixed doubles. 

Reference Link:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *