Australia Adds 6 Players For West Indies And Bangladesh Tours

They Will Act As Cover For White-Ball Tours 

Cricket fans are beaming, following the approval of some of the sport’s most popular showdowns. However, the COVID-19 pandemic continues to influence the execution of these events. In addition, travel restrictions and other country-specific safety protocols are affecting the preparations of many participating nations.

Growing concerns over the unavailability of its top talent has seen Australia add six players to its preliminary squad. The decision to add six more players comes after discussions between the 23 players of the initial preliminary squad, the backroom staff, and Cricket Australia officials. Following the talks, it is clear that some of these players will pull out owing to reasons such as bubble fatigue and participation in the Indian Premier League. Additionally, the impact on the health of players and their families also is a significant concern.

There is confirmation that Daniel Sams, the team’s pace bowler, is out citing mental health issues. Furthermore, reports indicate that Pat Cummins and David Warner will also not feature for the tours.

The new call-ups are for Cameron Green, Ashton Turner, Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, Wes Agar, and Ben McDermott. Consequently, the number of players vying for a spot on the final team sheet is now 29.

When announcing the new additions, Australia’s cricket governing body highlighted the immense challenges that sporting teams and international athletes face during the COVID-19 pandemic. Furthermore, it gave assurances that it provides top priority for the wellbeing of its players, officials, and staff. Consequently, increasing the number of players on the preliminary squad was the best course of action.

Australia upcoming matches will involve series of five-match T20Is and three-match ODIs against the West Indies and Bangladesh. Confirmation of the final team sheet will come before the team departs on Jul 9.

The first leg of Australia vs. West Indies tour is a five-match T20I series at the Darren Sammy Cricket Ground in Saint Lucia. Leg two of the tour is a three-match ODI series at the Kensington Oval in Barbados. The teams will start on Tuesday, Jul 20, with the series concluding on Saturday, Jul 24. Sadly, there is no confirmation as to when the Australia vs. Bangladesh five-match T20I series will commence. However, fans remain hopeful that Cricket Australia will make the announcement soon.

Stay tuned to know which players will create records in the upcoming tours.

Reference Resource:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *