Top 10 Players Who Scored Fastest Century in IPL History

IPL is not just a T20 game; it’s a game of emotions for the whole of India. People in India love their teams based upon their respective state/city. Every match of the tournament is a breath-taking experience. No cricket fan in the country would want to miss even a single moment of the match. Most of the matches in IPL are fast-paced in which batsmen hit ‘Fours’ and ‘Sixes’, trying to add runs to the board and for themselves as well as get closer to the century. Sometimes, they even create a record for the fastest century. Here we are taking a look at a list of players who scored the fastest century in IPL history.

  1. Chris Gayle

The top position is procured by the one and only ‘Chris Gayle’. In 2013’s IPL match between RCB vs PWI, Gayle scored a century in just 30 balls, and in total, he scored 175 runs in just 66 balls, including 17 fabulous sixes and 13 boundaries. Pune Warriors India had lost by 130 runs. Till now, no one has broken the magnificent record of 175 runs; well, no one has even gone close to the record.

  1. Yusuf Pathan

The hard-hitting player “Yusuf Pathan” is in the 2nd position on the list. However, he is at the top of the list of players who scored the fastest century in IPL played at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai. He scored 100 runs in just 37 balls, including eight sixes and nine boundaries. By the way, we can’t deny the fact that the team RR still lost the match by four runs despite a single player hitting 100 runs in just 37 balls. The team still needed 40 runs to win the match when Pathan got out in the 18th over.

  1. David Miller

Scoring a century in just 38 balls, David Miller is 3rd in the list. Miller played for Kings XI Punjab, and the match was against Royal Challengers Bangalore at Mohali in 2013. The match was a nail-biting watching experience for the audience. Miller scored 101 runs, including seven massive sixes and eight boundaries.

  1. Adam Gilchrist

Adam holds the 4th position for the fastest century in IPL. Playing for Deccan Chargers against Mumbai Indians, he scored the century in 42 balls with ten huge sixes and nine boundaries and made the team win easily. The target was 155 runs, and the team reached the target very quickly with eight overs left. Mumbai Indians couldn’t knock a single wicket off the team, and the Chargers won the match by ten wickets.

  1. AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers holds the 5th position. He scored the century in 43 balls, and in total, he scored 129 runs in 52 balls, including 12 gigantic sixes and ten boundaries. Even his on-crease partner Virat Kohli scored 109 runs in 55 balls. RCB set a target of 248 runs and later won the match by 144 runs against Gujarat Lions.

  1. David Warner

While playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad, Warner scored a century in 43 balls against KKR. He scored 126 runs in 59 balls, including eight sixes and ten boundaries, and Hyderabad scored 209 runs and won by 48 runs.

  1. Sanath Jayasuriya

He scored the century in 45 balls playing for Mumbai Indians in the first season of IPL in 2008. He scored the first-ever century in the history of IPL against CSK in Mumbai. In total, he scored 114 runs in 48 balls with 11 sixes and nine boundaries.

  1. Mayank Agarwal

Well, Mayank scored a century in 45 balls with seven sixes and ten boundaries during last year’s IPL tournament conducted during the COVID-19 pandemic.

  1. Murali Vijay

Murali Vijay scored the century in 46 balls, and he scored 127 runs in 56 balls while playing for CSK against RR.

  1.  Chris Gayle

The 10th and 11th positions are in the account of Chris Gayle again. Coincidentally, he scored the century in 46 balls in both the matches, i.e. in 2015 and 2011, and both were against KXIP. Both matches were won by RCB.

These are the top 10 players who scored the fastest century in IPL history.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *