A Detailed List of All-Rounders, Batsman, Bowlers, Captain, and Coach for RCB in IPL 2021

Royal Challengers Bangalore will be worth keeping an eye on in this IPL season, considering that they released some big names from this tournament. This implies that RCB has some significant alterations to make in its squad.

Some of the big names that were let go of this season include –

  • Australia limited-overs captain Aaron Finch, RCB’s senior opening batsman in IPL 2020
  • Chris Morris, South African international cricketer and bowling all-rounder.
  • Moeen Ali, English international cricketer and an all-rounder.
  • Dale Steyn, South African professional cricketer and a fast bowler.
  • Umesh Yadav, Indian professional cricketer and a fast bowler.

Players Retained

Here is a list of players who were retained by RCB during the 2021 IPL auction –

Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Kane Richardson, Washington Sundar, Adam Zampa, Shahbaz Ahmed, Josh Philippe, and Pavan Deshpande.

Players Released

Here is a list of players who were released by RCB during the 2021 IPL auction –

Aaron Finch, Isuru Udana, Parthiv Patel, Chris Morris, Moeen Ali, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Pawan Negi, Shivam Dube, Dale Steyn, and Umesh Yadav.

Players Acquired

After a heated bidding battle, Glenn Maxwell got successfully bought by RCB for a whopping 14.25 Cr, from his base price starting at Rs 2 Cr.

Name Price (in Rs.)
Glenn Maxwell 14.25 Cr
Sachin Baby 20 lakh
Rajat Patidar 20 lakh
Mohammed Azharuddeen 20 lakh
Kyle Jamieson 15 crore
Daniel Christian 4.8 crore
Suyash Prabhudessai 20 lakh
KS Bharat 20 lakh


Head Coach

Former Australian all-rounder Simon Katich holds the role of the head coach of Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2021, representing his country in 56 Tests, 45 ODIs, and three T20Is. He has played 11 IPL matches for Punjab Kings during his initial two seasons.

Batting Coach

Sridharan Sriram will hold the position of the batting and spin bowling coach of RCB this year. Sriram played eight ODI matches for India, hit 81 runs and picked up nine wickets. He played for the Delhi Capitals as well as the Royal Challengers Bangalore Team in IPL.

Bowling Coach

Adam Griffith played as a right-arm fast bowler for Tasmania and Leicestershire. The Australian pacer never played an international game. He participated in 50 first-class matches, 54 List-A games, as well as 12 T20s in his domestic career.

 Fielding Coach

Malolan Rangarajan holds two pivotal roles in the RCB backroom staff. He acts as the fielding coach of the team as well as the talent scout. Rangarajan participated in domestic cricket for Tamil Nadu and Uttarakhand.


Virat Kohli has assumed the role of captain for Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL since the 2013 edition. Virat Kohli carried the franchise to the final of the tournament in the 2016 edition of IPL and will lead RCB in IPL 2021.


Name Batting Style Total Runs
AB de Villiers (VC) Right-Handed Batsman 4974
Mohammed Azharuddeen Right-Handed Batsman           –
Srikar Bharat Right-Handed Batsman           –
Virat Kohli (C) Right-Handed Batsman 5949
Devdutt Padikkal Left-Handed Batsman 509
Sachin Baby Right-Handed Batsman 137
Rajat Patidar Right-Handed Batsman 9
Suyash Prabhudessai Right-Handed Batsman          –
Finn Allen Right-Handed Batsman          –


Name Bowling Style Wickets
Yuzvendra Chahal Right-Arm Bowler 123
Adam Zampa Right-Arm Bowler 21
Mohammed Siraj Right-Arm Bowler 41
Navdeep Saini Right-Arm Bowler 17
Kane Richardson Right-Arm Bowler 18
Harshal Patel Right-Arm Bowler 55
Kyle Jamieson Right-Arm Bowler 5
Daniel Christian Right-Arm Bowler 34


Name Batting Style Bowling Style
Pavan Deshpande Right-Handed Batsman Right-Arm Bowler
Washington Sundar Left-Handed Batsman Right-Arm Bowler
Daniel Sams Right-Handed Batsman Left-Arm Bowler
Shahbaz Ahmed Left-Handed Batsman Left-Arm Bowler
Glenn Maxwell Right-Handed Batsman Right-Arm Bowler

RCB Ideal Playing XI

Virat Kohli (C), AB de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Christian, Mohammed Azharuddeen (WK), Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Kyle Jamieson, and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Final Words

With a couple of changes to their playing squad and them dropping some big names from their squad in IPL 2021, RCB will reform their playing squad and make tactical changes in the field.

Under Kohli’s captaincy and the support rendered by the excellent coaching staff, RCB might pose a threat to other teams and are a strong contender to steal the crown from Mumbai Indians as the winners of IPL 2021.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *