Pakistan Names Squads for England, West Indies Tours

The PCB has recalled Abbas & Naseem for Tests

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the squads to represent the country in the England and West Indies Tours. The Pakistan squad is slated to tour England for three ODIs and as many T20Is from July 8 to July 20. After that, they will fly to the Caribbean for 5T20Is and 2 Tests as they conclude the tour in August.

The Babar Azam-led squad will include the prolific uncapped cricketer Azam Khan. The 22-year-old Quetta Gladiators’ hard-hitting batsman receives his maiden call-up to the Pakistan T20I squad thanks to his six-hitting prowess, which has earned him fame despite only playing a single first-class match and 36 T20 matches. Further, he has appeared in the Pakistan Super League and Sri Lanka Premier League events. 

Three other players have been recalled to the Pakistan squads for England and West Indies Tours. They include teenage sensation and fast-bowler Naseem Shah, seamer, Mohammad Abbas, and spinner Yasir Shah recovering from a knee injury. Reports indicate that Shah’s selection remains subject to his recovery and clearing a fitness test. He was sidelined after an injury following the second Test against South Africa. However, chief selector Muhammad Wasim says he is hopeful that Yasir will complete his rehabilitation before the Pakistan squads for West Indies tours depart.

Meanwhile, Haris Sohail has also been recalled to the national side ODI squad, while all-rounder Imad Wasim to the T20I side. 

While speaking about the selections and recalls, chief selector Muhammad Wasim says that they have remained consistent in their selection and kept the same core of cricketers because this is a critical tour as they prepare for the ICC men’s T20 World Cup. He says they have recalled four experienced players and rewarded uncapped Azim Khan for his domestic performance. They are also giving him the confidence for future challenges. Wasim also notes that Mohammad Abbas has regained his form, while Naseem Shah and Haris Sohail have reclaimed the required fitness standards. 

Pakistan squads for England and West Indies Tours

ODI: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, and Usman Qadir

T20: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan, Arshad Iqbal, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Sharjeel Khan, and Usman Qadir

Test: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imran Butt, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Yasir Shah and Zahid Mahmood.

Do you think Azam will lead his teams to glory in the upcoming games? Share your opinion in the comments section below.

Reference Resource:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *