India’s T20 World Cup Team Selection

As the ICC World Cup nears, the BCCI is out to strengthen the T20 India team squad. Up for selection are mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy and the leg break googly, Rahul Chahar. The committee also wants to reinforce the keeper position. In the keeper position, the two selected players are Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson. 

Despite most of the participating teams naming 15- members squads, India opted for an additional 3 or 5 to boost the team to a formidable 30 members. In preparations, the Chetan Sharma-steered committee will meet at the BBCI headquarters in Mumbai and reach out to the team captain—Virat Kohli, who stays in Manchester, and the London-based head coach, Ravi Shastri.

Who will make it to the T20 Indian team squad?

The two spinners—Jadeja and Yuzvendra, are sure of their slot in the team; however, an addition of Varun and Rahul will be a boost. Varun Chakravarthy had good IPL runs, while Rahul Chahar performed well in the just-finished Sri Lanka tour.

Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul, despite their ability to don the gloves, adding the high-performing Ishan Kishan won’t harm. Kishan’s exemplary performance in the Sri Lanka tour will undoubtedly outdo the overrated but unfortunately underperforming Sanju Samson.

Krunal Pandya hopes to join his brother (Hardik Pandya); however, his dip in form that blamed for the failure to bowl a full quota of four overs means that Shardul Thakur’s services will come in handy. Shardul will make it to the team owing to his newfound prowess in batting which the team will need.

Suryakumar is also sure of a place in the team. Joining him is Shreyas Iyer, who has put in work and makes a comeback to the India squad.

After Rahul and Rohit Sharma, the extra opener’s slot are Shikar Dhawan, who have had impressive back-to-back IPLs, and Prithvi Shaw, who is in good form. One of them will make it to the team. However, should the selection committee settle on a 20-member squad, both will make it.

The BCCI will follow the guideline set by the organizers, which aim at easing the T20 World Cup schedule in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. The organizers set the maximum number of team members at 30, inclusive of support staff.

Other team members sure of making it to the team are Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami (If fit), and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. These are fast bowling members. To join them, though yet to be confirmed, are Mohammed Siraj and Deepak Chahar.

The injury-plagued Washington Sundar will probably miss out, and should he get to the team; he will feature without any match practice. In the left-arm pacer department, T Natarajan and Chetan Sakariya will be on the team. 

Here’s a look at the summary of the T20 India team squad.

The Likely Squad

Confirmed (14): Virat Kohli (head captain), Rohit Sharma (assistant captain), Shardul Thakur, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Buvneshwar Kumar, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Mohammed Shami.

Extra Opener: Prithvi Shaw/ Shikhar Dhawan

Reserve Keeper: Sanju Samson/ Inshan Kishan

Extra Spinner: Rahul Chahar/ Varun Chakravarthy

Left-arm pacer: T Natarajan/ Chetan Sakariya

Cover for Jadeja: Krunal Pandya/ Axar Patel

Subject to Fitness: Washington Sundar

Reference Links:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *