India’s squad for ODI and T20I series

Know the Indian Team Touring Sri Lanka

With the upcoming India vs Sri Lanka game, the BCCI has found the need to select its players for this match. The Board of Control for Cricket in India has come up with a list of individuals for the tour to Sri Lanka. However, many people expect to see the players who played well in the IPL get a chance. Here are the BCCI’s selected players. 

Shikhar Dhawan has been selected as head leader of the India squad this time around. He will be leading the team for the first time during the nation’s limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka. Although, he was appointed as the captain because Virat Kohli, the consistent skipper, is absent. He will be working with Rahul Dravid, who will travel with the group as the head coach. 

Ravi Shastri, who was the previous coach, will be working with the Test Regulars in England. Shikhar Dhawan has had an excellent IPL, and he will be the perfect captain for the team. He was the high scorer of the competition with 380 runs at a normal of 54.38, followed by Prithvi Shaw in the first place.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has appointed Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the team’s speedster, as the vice-captain for the visitors. Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson have been selected for the wicket-keeper section, whereas the batsmen as Rashabn Pant. Wriddhiman Saha will be the one who will keep the Test series bust against England. 

Devdutt Padikkal and Ruturaj Gaikwad, the CSK and RCB openers who shook the IPL 2020 and 2021, have acquired their maiden call-ups. The twisted pair of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal will be seen back in the game after a long rest. Rajasthan Royal’s young pacer Chetan Sakariya who had a noteworthy IPL debut this year, has also acquired a call-up for the public group through Chennai’s expensive purchase Krishnappa Gowtham can be given his maiden cap. 

Other striking players are remembered for the crew of the three T20s and the three ODIs against Sri Lanka. They include Nitish Rana, Varun Chakravarthy, Manish Pandey, Navdeep Saini, and Suryakumar Yadav. 

However, Chakravarthy has been added to the team, even after he missed the play against England as he bombed the Yo-Yo test. On the other hand, Rahul Tewatia, who also failed the wellness test, has been excluded from the team. Other players who have been not going to play include Shreyas Iyer, who is still recovering from the shoulder injury he got, Ravi Bishnoi, a leg spinner, and Dinesh Karthik, a batsman. 

The team’s schedule is already out, while many people are eagerly waiting for the championships to begin. They are to travel to the island nation for ODI and T20I series to play against Sri Lanka. However, India’s players who are part of the travelling group for the World test will not be playing against the Sri Lanka series.

Want more news about the players and matches? Bookmark this site. 

Reference Resource: 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *