Mumbai IndiansMI 14 7 7 0
Chennai Super KingsCSK 14 9 5 0
Royal Challengers BangaloreRCB 14 9 5 0
Delhi CapitalsDC 14 10 4 0
Punjab KingsPK 14 6 8 0


Player Innings Runs
Virat Kohli 191 6076
Shikhar Dhawan 183 5577
Suresh Raina 195 5491
Rohit Sharma 202 5480
David Warner 148 5447

Previous Years’ Orange Cap Holders and Potential Winners For IPL 2021

The Orange Cap is awarded to the top run-getter in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and gets juggled around from one batsman to another as the group stage of the IPL unfolds. It ultimately gets awarded to the batsman with the highest number of runs at the end of the tournament.

Previous Orange Cap Holders

Here are some previous years Orange Cap holders that scored the highest number of runs at the end of each league –

  • Australian batsman Shaun Marsh earned the Orange Cap in the inaugural edition of IPL, followed by compatriot Matthew Hayden in the 2009 edition.
  • Indian batting figure Sachin Tendulkar won the Orange Cap in 2010, a season in which he led his team, Mumbai Indians.
  • India skipper Virat Kohli got accoladed with the award, followed by an incredible run with the bat in 2016.
  • David Warner has aced the Orange Cap the highest number of times in the IPL, winning the Orange Cap in 2015, 2017, and 2019.
  • Chris Gayle ranks second as the player with the most Orange Cap titles, winning in 2011 and 2012.
  • Kane Williamson won the Orange Cap in the 2018 season, maintaining a consistent run with the bat while dealing with captaincy duties for the Sunrisers.

Orange Cap Holder for IPL 2020

Rank Player Name Team Matches Runs
1 KL Rahul KXIP 14 670
2 Shikhar Dhawan DC 17 618
3 David Warner SRH 16 548
4 Shreyas Iyer DC 17 519
5 Ishan Kishan MI 14 516
6 Quinton de Kock MI 16 503
7 Suryakumar Yadav MI 16 480
8 Devdutt Padikkal RCB 15 473
9 Virat Kohli RCB 15 466
10 AB de Villiers RCB 15 454
11 Faf du Plessis CSK 13 449
12 Shubman Gill KKR 14 440

Potential Winners To Orange Cap in IPL 2021

Here is a list of players who can potentially win an orange cap in IPL 2021, based on their past years’ performance –

Potential Ranking Player Name Team
1 Rohit Sharma Mumbai Indians
2 KL Rahul Punjab Kings
3 David Warner SunRisers Hyderabad
4 Surya Kumar Yadav Mumbai Indians
5 Shubman Gill Kolkata Knight Riders
6 Quinton De Kock Mumbai Indians
7 Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore
8 Rishabh Pant Delhi Capitals
9 Ishan Kishan Mumbai Indians

Players such as Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson, ABD, and some more are also competent in securing the Cap. However, this ranking accounts for recent performances, consistency in achievements, and the slot in which these batsmen play.

Final Words

A batsman must bat well ahead in the batting order to ensure that his team scores more runs that can potentially earn him the Orange Cap.

There have been twelve top run-scorers in IPL 2020, and more names have come up for IPL 2021, which will begin on April 9. With heated competition between players from various teams, the highest run-scorer shall get accoladed with the Orange Cap.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *