Mumbai IndiansMI 14 7 7 0
Chennai Super KingsCSK 14 9 5 0
Royal Challengers BangaloreRCB 14 9 5 0
Delhi CapitalsDC 14 10 4 0
Punjab KingsPK 14 6 8 0


Player Innings Runs
Virat Kohli 191 6076
Shikhar Dhawan 183 5577
Suresh Raina 195 5491
Rohit Sharma 202 5480
David Warner 148 5447

IPL 2021: CSK vs SRH: Who Won?

IPL 2021, Match 44, CSK vs. SRH, was played at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah. CSK won the toss and opted to put SRH on a flat deck. SRH kept losing wickets at regular intervals and managed only 134 runs for the loss of 7 wickets. Meanwhile, CSK was brilliant with both bat and ball and defeated SRH by 6 wickets. They became the first team to qualify for the playoffs with 18 points from this victory. SRH was never in the hunt and lost the match in the final over, where Dhoni finished the game in style with his trademark six IPL.   

SRH Innings

SRH played the same 11 that won against RR in the previous match. On the other hand, CSK made one change where Dwayne Bravo replaced Sam Curran after being rested in the last game. SRH made a slow start with opener Jason Roy getting out cheaply for 2 runs after nicking Josh Hazlewood’s delivery to Dhoni. Then, Kane Williamson joined Saha, and they made 43 runs in the powerplay, which can be termed as a decent start. After this, it all went downhill for SRH as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Saha top-scored with 44 runs from 46 balls before he was dismissed by Ravindra Jadeja. Later, Rashid Khan scored some runs at the death, and SRH scored a low 134. Josh Hazelwood was the pick of the bowlers with 3/24. 

1st Innings Stats

SRH: 134/7 (20 Overs)

Best Batting:

W Saha: 44 (46)

Abhishek Sharma: 18 (13)

Abdul Samad: 18(14)

Best Bowling:

Hazlewood: 3/24

DJ Bravo: 2/17

Ravindra Jadeja: 1/14

CSK’s Chase

Chasing a small target of 135, CSK had a decent start, with openers Du Plessis and Ruturaj making 58 runs in 7 overs. DRS saved Ruturaj after he was given LBW on Rashid Khan’s delivery. However, the ultra-edge showed a spike as the ball had hit Ruturaj’s glove, forcing the on-field umpire to reverse his decision. After 10 overs, CSK were 75/0 and cruising to victory. 

In the 11th over, Jason Holder picked up the first wicket for SRH as Ruturaj mishit a length ball, and was caught by Williamson at mid-off. He scored a stylish 45 (38) and continued his rich form this season. Faf du Plessis also made a decent 41 runs from 36 balls before getting out to Holder. 

The match became interesting after Holder outsmarted Raina, and trapped him LBW for 2 runs. Then, needing 27 runs in the final four overs, Rayudu hit some lusty boundaries at the death, making the chase much easier. Finally, Dhoni finished the match with a huge six and took his team to the playoffs. CSK now has a great chance of finishing at the top. But Dc might have to say something about that!

2nd Innings Stats: 

CSK: 139/4 (19.4 Overs)

Best Batting:

Ruturaj Gaikwad: 45 (38)

Faf du Plessis: 41 (36)

Ambati Rayudu: 17(13)

Best Bowling:

Jason Holder: 3/27

Rashid Khan:1/27

Final Match Result: CSK won by 6 wickets 

Man of the match: Josh Hazlewood

Match 44 entirely belonged to CSK, and now they will wait for the other 3 teams to meet them in the playoffs. In contrast, this season, nothing worked for SRH and, hence, they are dwelling at the bottom of the points table. Nevertheless, CSK will try to maintain the top position to give them two chances of qualifying for the finals. Overall, CSK’s game plan is benefiting them, while, on the other hand, SRH must rethink its game plan for the next season.

Reference Link:

  1. https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/ipl-2021-live-score-srh-vs-csk-ipl-match-today-sunrisers-hyderabad-vs-chennai-super-kings-match-44-latest-scorecard-101633001292183.html
  2. https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cricket/ipl/ipl-news/csk-vs-srh-live-ipl-score-dhoni-chennai-super-kings-vs-williamson-sunrisers-hyderabad-live-updates/article36752059.ece

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *