Mumbai IndiansMI 14 7 7 0
Chennai Super KingsCSK 14 9 5 0
Royal Challengers BangaloreRCB 14 9 5 0
Delhi CapitalsDC 14 10 4 0
Punjab KingsPK 14 6 8 0


Player Innings Runs
Virat Kohli 191 6076
Shikhar Dhawan 183 5577
Suresh Raina 195 5491
Rohit Sharma 202 5480
David Warner 148 5447

IPL 2021: BCCI Treasurer Conforms IPL To Have 10 Teams in 2022

The Indian Premier League 2022 is said to have 10 teams in the upcoming year after BCCI confirmed the reports regarding the inclusion of two more franchises. According to sources, the BCCI is currently working on the tender, and the official confirmation will be released soon.

BCCI’s treasurer Arun Dhumal stated that this year’s will be an exciting tournament in the UAE. Additionally, he confirmed that this year’s IPL 2021 is going to be the last season to have eight teams. 

The BCCI treasurer ceased to comment on further details on who the new teams will be as the entire process is under discussion. He also refused to reveal anything further about the tender and timeline process, but sources say it is most likely to be revealed before November.

The BCCI is yet to decide the base price of the tender for the new Indian Premier League teams and the talks are still on. The previous years had 1500 crores as base price, but the recent investments in Rajasthan royals at increased value have made the board reconsider the base price in this tender.

The recent investments by the US-based private investment firm RedBird Capital Partners, who are also invested in the Liverpool football club, picked up a 15% stake in Rajasthan Royals for a good sum. The pitching in of the RedBird Capital also remains the first global investment in the homegrown cricket league. Sources state that the transaction is valued at around $250m-$300m. These investments indicate that the new base price for the IPL teams will be in the range of 2000 crore or more. 

According to the reports, the teams are most likely to be Ahmedabad based Adani group, and Kolkata based RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group. The tenders will give the teams  8 to 10 cities to choose from. The predicted cities are Kochi, Ahmedabad, Lucknow, Kanpur, Guwahati, Indore, Pune, Raipur and Trivandrum.

Bookmark pure win news to know the upcoming IPL 2021 Schedule and all news related to IPL and CPL today!

Reference Resource:

  1. https://zeenews.india.com/cricket/big-news-ipl-2022-will-have-will-have-10-teams-confirms-bcci-treasurer-arun-dhumal-2385992.html

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *