India To Face England And Australia In Warm-Up Games Ahead Of ICC T20 World Cup 2021

As cricket fans set their eyes on the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Team India prepares to face Australia and England in warm-up matches before the World Cup Kickoff. Three days after completing the IPL, India faces England in a tight warm-up match on 18th October. After the match against England, India will take on Australia on 20th October. Fans will get to catch the action broadcast on the Star Sports Network.

India is set to battle their arch-rivals Pakistan on their first World Cup match in the T20 World Cup 2021 schedule, slated for 24th October. Team India is confident that they will be fully prepared when they set foot in UAE after encountering the Aussies and the Englishmen.

The ICC 2021 T20 World Cup is scheduled to start on a high note with comprehensive cricket games from Group 1 teams, including England, Australia, West Indies, and South Africa. However, these teams might not face India in the World Cup league stage. On the other hand, India is part of group 2, where they will play New Zealand and Afghanistan besides Pakistan.

Team India Squad announced earlier this month

The BCCI has already selected the batsmen who will represent India in the much-contested ICC T20 World Cup, and with Virat Kohli on the lead, fans are in for a treat. The 15 man squad has caught many fans by surprise with the Inclusion of Ashwan, who last took part in the T20 back in 2017. A few notable names are also missing from the squad, such as Yuzvendra Chahal and Shikhar Dhawan. Yuzvendra Chahal had a fantastic run in the Sri Lanka T20I series, and most people were looking forward to his gameplay in the T20 World Cup 2021.

Nevertheless, Rahul Chahar made it to the list after showing his zeal for success in T20 when playing against Sri Lanka and England in previous matches. Other big-shot players filling in as standby players include Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chakar, and Shreyas Iyer.

Team India World Cup Schedule

The semi-finals for the World Cup are scheduled to take place on November 10th and 11th, with a two-day break before the finals are played. The West Indies, England, and Team India are the favorite teams fans hope will clinch the trophy.

Here is a look at India’s schedule

The opening game will be played on 24th October against Pakistan in Dubai, and on 31st October, India will face New Zealand in their second group match. India will play their third group match against Afghanistan in Abu Dhabi on 3rd November before facing the winning team from group B on 5th November in Dubai. On 8th November, Team India will be in Dubai playing against the runner-up team from group A.

Team India Squad

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice-Captain. Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-Keepers). Hardik Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvnehswar Kumar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Varun Chakravarthy, Mohammed Shami. On standby are Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Shardul Thakur.

Reference Links:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *