St. Lucis Zouks Retain Players for CPL 2021: Mohammad Nabi Released!

The retention for St Lucia Zouks squad for CPL 2021 was recently announced. St. Lucia Zouks came third in the 2020 premier league after Tribango Knight Riders and Guyana Amazon Warriors. In the league, the franchise won six out of ten matches and managed to reach the finals. Although the franchise had a decent performance streak in the previous premier league, they have decided to release most of their players from the eighth season. 

St. Lucia Zouks have retained seven cricketers for the Caribbean Premier League that’s starting on August 28. It was expected to see the Zouks enter with most of their team from CPL 2020. However, the franchise has chosen to release around ten of its players. It is a surprise to see Mohammad Nabi’s name missing from the St. Lucia Zouks retained players list. Nabi has delivered a lot of winning performances for the Zouks. In 12 matches, the all-rounder took 12 wickets while also scoring 182 runs with an average strike rate. 

Along with the Afghan all-rounder Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, who scored 224 in 11 innings and Scott Kuggelejin were also released. The final number of players retained has come down to seven, with players like Andre Fletcher, Kesrcik Williams and Roston Chase. St. Lucia franchise announced that they would be heading for CPL 2021 with only the core team that got them to the finals in 2020. The former captain of the team, Darren Sammy, will no longer be playing for the team as a player because he is now a T20 Consultant and Brand Ambassador for the franchise.

“It’s been an incredible joy to lead and be a part of the St Lucia Zouks from the beginning. Even while some may argue that all wonderful things must come to an end at some point, this will not be the case right now. We’ll always be a team, St Lucia Zouks and I. However, since beginning to coach, I’ve discovered a new passion that allows me to continue to contribute and play a role in driving the organization forward on its way to winning the CPL title.” said Darren Sammy.

Complete list of the St. Lucia Zouks players for CPL 2021

Players Retained:

Andre Fletcher, Roston Chase, Kesrick Williams, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, and Javelle Glen.

Complete list of the released players for CPL 2021

Players Released:

Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Scott Kuggeleijn, Leniko Boucher, Kavem Hodge, Kimani Melius, Daren Sammy, Chemar Holder, Saad Bin Zafar, Zahir Khan.

Purewinnews is a service that keeps sports lovers up to date on the newest sports news in the world. Get the most up-to-date information on the most prominent leagues, including the Caribbean Premier League 2021.

If you enjoy sports or rely on sports to relieve stress at work, Purewinnews is a great place to visit with everything from the St. Lucia Zouks retained players 2021 to the WTC. We’ve devoted ourselves to bringing you the most up-to-date information about a broad spectrum of sports news and major leagues from across the world. So push the bookmark button!

Reference Resource:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *