Mumbai IndiansMI 14 7 7 0
Chennai Super KingsCSK 14 9 5 0
Royal Challengers BangaloreRCB 14 9 5 0
Delhi CapitalsDC 14 10 4 0
Punjab KingsPK 14 6 8 0


Player Innings Runs
Virat Kohli 191 6076
Shikhar Dhawan 183 5577
Suresh Raina 195 5491
Rohit Sharma 202 5480
David Warner 148 5447

Top 3 Teams With Most Consecutive Wins in the History of IPL

The best team in the IPL with the most consecutive wins is the Kolkata Knight Riders. Read on to know more about the other top teams in the list of most consecutive wins in the IPL.

  1. Kolkata Knight Riders

While the Kolkata Knight Riders have been champions of the Indian Premier League twice, the team also has a mind-boggling winning streak. The Kolkata Knight Riders showed some fantastic performance in the 2014 edition of the Indian Premier League. Having won only two out of their initial seven games in the season, the Kolkata Knight Riders were looking set to be out of the race for the playoffs. Yet, as destiny would have it, the Kolkata Knight Riders proceeded to win seven straight games to storm into the playoffs.

The fantasy run didn’t stop there as the Kolkata Knight Riders further proceeded to win their playoff game and surprisingly won the finals as well. Kolkata Knight Riders stretched their incredible winning streak to 9 games after doing so.

This was a first in the Indian Premier League, as no team had won more than seven games in succession. The nine-match dash of Kolkata Knight Riders in 2014 began on May 7, 2014. The primary game that they had won was against the Delhi Daredevils. This streak then, at that point, proceeded till the last match, where they crushed Kings XI Punjab by three wickets.

In this run of 9 consecutive wins, the Kings XI Punjab team was trumped thrice by the Kolkata Knight Riders. The Sunrisers Hyderabad team was beaten twice by the Kolkata Knight Riders in this streak. The Delhi Daredevils, Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Mumbai Indians were beaten once.

While the 2014 mission had the Kolkata Knight Riders rule, the winning streak was not simply confined to that season. The Kolkata Knight Riders began the 2015 season as the reigning champs and proceeded to expand their winning streak against the to-be kings of the 2015 version of the Indian Premier League, the Mumbai Indians. The initial round of the period saw the Mumbai Indians and the Kolkata Knight Riders battle it out. The Mumbai Indians set a target of 169 runs for the Kolkata Knight Riders, and the Knights scored170 runs in 18.3 overs. They won the game with nine balls remaining and seven wickets to spare.

The Kolkata Knight Riders’ winning streak reached a conclusion when they were crushed by the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the second KKR game of that year’s IPL schedule. Eventually, the Kolkata Knight Riders’ run of having the most consecutive wins in the Indian Premier League was set at ten matches.

  1. Kings XI Punjab

Kings XI Punjab (Now known as Punjab Kings) has a reputation of being chokers in the IPL. In the 14 years of the league’s existence, the team has failed to secure the trophy and has had its best performance in the 2014 season when the team managed to reach the finals.

However, the glorious run of winning eight consecutive games for the Kings XI Punjab started in 2013 when they sadly crashed out of the tournament before the playoffs. The final three league games for the Punjab team were won, and the winning streak then spilled on to the subsequent season, where Punjab won their opening five games. In this process, they certainly managed to string together an unlikely winning streak of eight games.

  1. Chennai Super Kings

The MS Dhoni-led side has the highest win percentage when it comes to matches in the IPL, and there is absolutely no doubt that this team should have been leading this list as well. However, as fate would have it, the men in yellow have won only 7 matches consecutively in the Indian Premier League.

The seven-match winning streak from the Chennai-based team came in the 2013 season. While the season itself didn’t bear much fruit for the team, the Chennai Super Kings did make it to the finals, where they eventually lost to the Mumbai Indians.

Having played a total of 18 games that season, the Chennai Super Kings’ winning run started from their fifth game in the season and lasted till the eleventh game that they played in the group stage. In this streak, they beat the Delhi Daredevils, Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kings XI Punjab, Pune Warriors India once each, and the Kolkata Knight Riders twice.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *