The Caribbean Premier League Welcomes Back Gayle, Shakib And Du Plessis

There is good news for the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) as three cricket heavyweight players set make a return. Chris Gayle, Shakib al Hasan, and Francois “Faf” Du Pleiss will play in the Hero CPL 2021.

Chris Gayle, the former West Indies skipper, will come back to St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots after playing for them in 2017 and 2018. The batsman, who goes by the moniker “Underground Boss,” is regarded as one of the finest batsmen in T20 cricket. He has played in most of the major cricket leagues in countries including India, Australia, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, and Jamaica, bringing a wealth of experience to the team. In his last stint at the Patriots, he led them to their only Hero CPL final in their history, losing to the Trinbago Knight Riders by three wickets. The 41-year-old holds several records, including the highest score ever by a batsman in T20 cricket history when he scored 175 runs from 66 balls while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2013 in the IPL (Indian Premier League)

Shakib al Hasan, the 34-year –old Bangladeshi cricketer who is widely considered one of the greatest all-rounders of all time, is set to join the Jamaica Tallawahs for the Hero CPL 2021. It will be his second time at the side, having been at the franchise in 2016 and 2017. The spin-bowling all-rounder, a renowned philanthropist, has plied his trade in many franchises like the Kolkata Knight Riders, Dhaka Dynamites, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Worcestershire. He also played for the Barbados Tridents, a CPL team, in 2013

Faf du Pleiss, the former South African skipper, will be playing for the St Lucia Zouks in Hero CPL 2021. The 37-year –old right-handed batsman, is no stranger to the Hero CPL, having played for the Barbados Patriots in 2016. Faf now plays for the Chennai Super Kings, where he has been in scintillating form, making four consecutive half-centuries, including 95 not out against Kolkata Knight Riders.

The Caribbean Premier League is a T20 tournament comprised of six franchises that play each other in group stages and a knockout stage. Each team has 15 contracted Caribbean Premier League players who include a maximum of five international players and four players under the age of 23. Each team also has one local and one international franchise player.

The current teams in the Hero CPL 2021 are Barbados Tridents, Jamaican Tallawahs, St Lucia Zouks, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, Trinbago Knight Riders, and Guyana Amazon Warriors. The tournament will start on 26th August and end on 15th September 2021, with all 33 matches taking place in St. Kitts and Nevis’ Warner Park. The defending Champions are the Trinbago Knight Riders, who have won this title the most times (four times).

They were initially known as Trinbago Red Steel. The Caribbean Premier League 2021 Schedule will see each team play ten matches in the group stage, and then the four teams with the highest points will play the semi-finals on 14th September 2021. The winners of these semi-finals will meet in the final to be played on 15th September.

Keep it here for the latest news and updates from your favourite teams and players.

Reference Resource:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *