Sammy Resigns As St Lucia Zouks Captain

St Lucia Zouks have released news saying that Darren Sammy will no longer be a part of the team. According to their announcement, Sammy will take on his new role as the T20 Cricket Consultant and Brand Ambassador. At this moment, they announced their retention and released players for the 2021 Hero Caribbean Premier League. 

However, the West Indies all-rounder Darren Sammy has not confirmed whether he has retired from all forms of cricket. In a recent CPL media report, Sammy says that it was an absolute pleasure to have led and also be a part of the St Lucia Zouks from the beginning. Also, he says that the Zouks will always be a part of him even though he will not be leading them. He has discovered that he has a passion for coaching, and he will still contribute and play a part in taking the franchise forward on its quest to winning a CPL title and developing future stars. 

Darren Sammy, a two-time T20 World Cup-winning captain, is one of the most experienced players in the CPL. He led St Lucia Zouks from 2013 to 2020. During this period, Darren has led the team to have 23 wins out of 62 games. He recorded a percentage of 38.33 while he was the captain. Also, the Zouks have finished as play-offs in seven seasons while he was the leader. For the CPL 2020, they ended up as runners-up, having lost to TKR (Trinbago Knight Riders). 

Sammy will join the PSL franchise Peshwar Zalmi and is said to enter Andy Flower’s coaching staff at the Zouks. Flower named Sammy an “Icon of West Indies white-ball cricket” and “the heartbeat of St Lucia Zouks.” He shared a personal message to Sammy saying he loved his interaction with him, thanking him for his contribution, and is looking forward to working with him in the future. 

The Zouks have announced seven players who have been maintained from their run to the finals, including Mark Deyal from Trinidad and Tobago. The Zouks’ retentions for CPL 2021 include Andre Fletcher, Obed McCoy, Kesrick Williams, Javelle Glen, Rahkeem Cornwall, Roston Chase, and Deyal. Even after losing Sammy’s captaincy, some big players have stormed back into the side after an impressive last season, such as Andre and Kesrick. 

Deyal scored 166 runs in 10 matches at a strike rate of 20.75 and took three wickets at 9.66 in the CPL 2020. However, the Zouks are yet to announce ten players that are to join the team in the coming season. But they will do so in the coming weeks. 

When announcing their retained players, they have also released some of the players who include Mohammad Nabi, Scott Kuggeleijn, Leniko Boucher, Kavem Hodge, Kimani Melius, Najibullah Zadran, Darren Sammy, Chemar Holder, Saad Bin Zafar, and Zahir Khan.

The CPL 2021 is set to begin on August 25 and end on September 15. However, the dates were changed because of the resumption of IPL 2021, which had stopped due to the COVID 19 pandemic. The matches will take place in St Kitts and Nevis. 

Keep in touch for more about your favorite teams and players. 

Reference Resource:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *