CPL 2021: 7 Players Retained by Jamaica Tallawahs

Andre Russell & Carlos Brathwaite Are Retained 

Russell, who has had a bittersweet relationship with the Tallawahs, will surprisingly remain in the team and play in the upcoming CPL 2021. Andre had even indicated to leave the team at the end of the 2020 tournament. However, he appeared to have gotten back to his deadly best with the bat for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL 2021. This was before the tournament was suspended due to the rising COVID 19 cases in India and various bio-bubble penetrating inside a couple of groups.

After the slow-moving IPL 2020, Russell returned with a bang for the KKR and several fifties that kept them above water. Furthermore, he sparkled in his new job as a demise-over bowler, taking a five-for also. Russell would need to proceed with a similar structure in the CPL 2021, and assuming he can, without a doubt, do that, different groups will have a great deal to consider over in the tournament.

Other than Russel, other players retained by the Tallawahs are Carlos Braithwaite, Rovman Powell, and Chadwick Walton

During their announcements, they also mentioned the players who have been released. They include Sandeep Lamichhane, Glenn Phillips, Oshane Thomas, Asif Ali, Preston McSween, Jermaine Blackwood, Nicholas Kirton Ramaal Lewis, and Nkrumah Bonner.

However, the Tallawahs still have ten spots they need to fill, so as their team is complete, but they will announce the CPL 2021 team in the coming weeks. The 7 players retained by the Jamaica team and other players will play this season, which is set to begin on August 25 and end on September 15, know about the complete Caribbean Premier League 2021 schedule. These matches will happen in St Kitts and Nevis, with all 33 games being performed at Warner Park. This follows after the successful staging of the CPL 202 in Trinidad and Tobago.

There was a combined transmission and digital survey of more than 500 million during the 2020 season to make it quite possibly the most-watched association in World cricket. Trinbago Knight Riders are the reigning Hero CPL champion. The other competing groups are Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Kitts, and Nevis Patriots, St. Lucia Zouks, and Jamaica Tallawahs.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors have retained 11 players from last year’s squad, while the Barbados Tridents have held on to 9 of the participants. Some other teams are yet to announce their players, but they will do so soon enough.

Get more updates about your favorite teams and players by bookmarking this page.

Reference Resources: 

  • https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/cpl-2021-andre-russell-carlos-brathwaite-among-7-players-retained-by-jamaica-tallawahs-101621694692497.html
  • https://www.aninews.in/news/sports/cricket/cpl-2021-andre-russell-carlos-brathwaite-among-7-players-retained-by-jamaica-tallawahs20210522200310/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *