Barbados Tridents Announces Its Player Retention List

Before the beginning of the 2021 Caribbean Premier League, the Barbados Trident team released their player retention for the year. This year’s matches are supposed to take place starting from August 28 in St Kitts and Nevis. This will be after the home series against South Africa, Australia, and Pakistan. In this period, the Windies will feature in 15 T2OIs playing 5T2OIs each against their opponents.

The nine players retained in the Barbados Tridents team include Captain Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Kyle Mayers, Justin Greaves, Raymon Reifer, and Joshua Bishop. Other than those, the CPL 2021 draft of the Tridents has included Jonson Charles, an opening batsman, and Hayden Walsh Jr, the team’s leg spinner. Walsh was named player of the competition when his team claimed the Hero CPL title in 2019.

However, the Barbados Tridents team has also released 8 players from the squad, including Rashid Khan. Khan, the Afghanistan spinner, is the biggest let go the team has done. Other released players include Ashley Nurse, Corey Anderson, Shamarh Brooks (former West Indies International), Shayan Jahangir, Jonathan Carter, Mitchell Santner, and Keon Harding. 

Because of the release, the team now has eight slots to fill, and apparently, foreign players are not allowed. Although, the CPL 2021 draft can happen in the final week of May 2021. Other than the Barbados Trident player retention, the other five teams have also made their lists in advance. The teams include Trinbago Knight Riders, Jamaica Tallawahs, St Lucia Zouks, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St Kitts, and Nevis Patriots. 

The Trinbagp Knight Riders have retained their core squad, including Subul Narine, Kieron Pollard, and Lendl Simmons. St Lucia Zouks will have a new skipper after Daren Sammy has stepped down from the role. The Guyana Amazon Warriors have retained the explosive batter, Nicholas Pooran, and he will lead the team after releasing their regular skipper Chris Green. 

Here is the complete Barbados Tridents player list; 

  1. Jason Holder,
  2. Johnson Charles,
  3. Shai Hope,
  4. Kyle Mayers,
  5. Hayden Walsh Jr,
  6. Raymon Reifer,
  7. Justin Greaves,
  8. Nyeem Young,
  9. Joshua Bishop

Also, the players released by Barbados Tridents include;

  • Rashid Khan,
  • Mitchell Santner,
  • Corey Anderson,
  • Shamarh Brooks,
  • Ashley Nurse,
  • Jonathan Carter,
  • Keon Harding,
  • Shayan Jahangir

The new squad has a possibility of winning just three matches out of their ten games. But it seems as if the management needs some new faces in the crew this year. 

Stay tuned to get more updates about your favorite teams and players. 

Reference Resource:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *