Australia vs. Pakistan T20 teams: An overview

Australia named a strong 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup, 2021, in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. 

“The team oozes confidence about their chances in the forthcoming T20 World Cup to be held in the Middle East. They have the players who have it in them to perform and succeed against the very best T20 sides in the world and lift the Coveted trophy that has eluded them so far.

With Aaron Finch, Warner, and Smith at the top of the order, and all-rounders like Glen Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, and Mitchell Marsh (either of them) in the middle order provides the right balance and options to the team. Mathew Wade dons the role of the wicketkeeper. The pace bowlers Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, and Josh Hazelwood form a deadly trio, with Adam Zampa and Aston Agar providing impetus to the spin department. 

Squad: Aaron Finch (cap), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazelwood, Josh Ingles, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan Cricket Board has also named a 15-member squad that will compete in the marquee T20 tournament.

Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan have been a successful opening duo for Pakistan in this format, and they will most likely stick to this pair. Rizwan has 752 runs in T20 in 2021 alone, the most by any player. Babar has 523 runs, the second-most by any player. Then they have Mohammad Hafeez and Sohaib Maqsood- the PSL 2021 final hero as middle-order batsmen.

Rizwan is the main wicketkeeper in the squad. Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Hasnain, and Hasan Ali form a potent pace attack with Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, and Haris Rauf likely to retain their places in the spin department. 

Squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (VC), Asif Ali, Azam Khan, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, and Sohail Maqsood.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *