Mumbai IndiansMI 14 7 7 0
Chennai Super KingsCSK 14 9 5 0
Royal Challengers BangaloreRCB 14 9 5 0
Delhi CapitalsDC 14 10 4 0
Punjab KingsPK 14 6 8 0


Player Innings Runs
Virat Kohli 191 6076
Shikhar Dhawan 183 5577
Suresh Raina 195 5491
Rohit Sharma 202 5480
David Warner 148 5447

Which Team Will Lift The IPL 2021 Trophy?

IPL is one of the most celebrated cricket tournaments for cricket enthusiasts. The last thirteen seasons of the tournament has seen different teams emerge as winners. The current season of the IPL is inviting specific predictions about who will win the trophy this year. Mumbai Indians seems to be a big contender for the trophy. But do the other teams have any chance of winning? Let’s find out. 

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai super kings will be looking for a strong comeback this season. The team failed to qualify in the playoffs for the first time in 2020. But in this season, there have not been many significant changes in the squad. The team will rely upon the same set of players in this season as well. Ms Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo and Faf du Plessis continue to be critical assets for the team. But the team’s young players like Sam Curran, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Lungi Ngidi give some hope to the team. The team will have to put forth an impressive performance to reach the playoffs this season.

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals have been becoming better and better after changing their name from Delhi Daredevils. Under the able captaincy of Shreyas Iyer, the team reached playoffs in 2019 and played their first final in 2020. However, the team failed to bag the trophy last season, emerging as the runners up. Things look positive for Delhi Capital in this season as well. The batting side is led by solid batsmen like Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer. The bowling side seems to be in good hands as well, with Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje. As per IPL 2021 Winner Prediction, DC is most likely to make it to the finals with a promising squad similar to last season.

Punjab Kings

This Punjab Kings team has undergone a change of name in the current season of the IPL. The team is yet to taste victory. KL Rahul and Mohammad Shami are highly relied upon. But the team sought to strengthen its squad in the 2021 auction. However, the team is not expected even to reach the semifinals. It will be a huge surprise for fans of the team to show any exciting results in this year’s tournament. 

Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR has given some incredible performances in the past seasons of the tournament. After finishing fifth in 2020, the team will look forward to consolidating in the current season. The team underwent some massive squad changes in 2020. But in this season, Kolkata knights Riders let go of only five players. KKR can go big in this season if the team’s star players manage to live up to expectations. 

Mumbai Indians

The winners of the previous season are expected to emerge as the IPL 2021 Winner. The same stars of the last season are all set to lead the Mumbai Indians team in this season. The established names in the team show no signs of a weak link. The star batsmen like Rohit Sharma, Chris Lynn and Suryakumar Yadav and the bowlers such as Jasprit Bumrah and Trent Boult seem to be in their best forms. The team also boasts of all-rounders like Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard, who can give award-winning performances.       

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore has never won the trophy. But the team boasts off crucial players like Virat Kohli, Yuzvendra Chahal and Devdutt Padikkal. They have made some significant changes in the team in this year’s auction. They can make a mark in this season if they continue to deliver consistent performances. 

Rajasthan Royals

This team lacks strength, and Jofra Archer’s injury is another blow for the team. The team heavily relies on a few key players to perform and back them with confidence. They are not expected to fare well in this season as well. Therefore, the chance of the Rajasthan Royals to list the trophy seems thin.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

The team will seek to reach the playoffs for the sixth consecutive season. They can easily bag the trophy if they continue to deliver consistent performances. However, their reliance on key players such as David Warner, Kane Williamson, Jonny Bairstow, and Rashid Khan works against them. 


Therefore, it seems that fans are expecting Mumbai Indians to lift the trophy. Delhi Capitals are a close favourite as per their incredible performance in the last season. 

Reference Resources:

  1. https://www.cricketbetting.net/tournament/ipl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *