Mumbai IndiansMI 14 7 7 0
Chennai Super KingsCSK 14 9 5 0
Royal Challengers BangaloreRCB 14 9 5 0
Delhi CapitalsDC 14 10 4 0
Punjab KingsPK 14 6 8 0


Player Innings Runs
Virat Kohli 191 6076
Shikhar Dhawan 183 5577
Suresh Raina 195 5491
Rohit Sharma 202 5480
David Warner 148 5447

KKR’s Varun Chakaravarthy Jumps to Top 6 List in IPL 2021 Purple Cap

Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) performance in the IPL 2021 is simply thrilling. Furthermore, they have an amazing team with players like Varun Chakaravarthy. Varun Chakaravarthy is an excellent bowler with fantastic bowling skills. His performance in the IPL 2021 guaranteed Kolkata’s rise in the list.

Varun Chakaravarthy and Andre Russell were the star performers in the Kolkata Knight Riders against Royal Challengers Banglore on 20th September 2021 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi. Their fantastic performance ensured they won against RCB’s by 9 wickets. 

 KKR’s pacer, Varun Chakaravarthy, performance on 20th September 2021 ensured he jumped up to the top six in the purple cap winner list. Varun managed to take 10 wickets in eight games that guaranteed him a position in the top ten in the purple cap leaderboard.

 At the same time, Prasidh Krishna, KKR pacer, has also jumped to the top 10 purple cap list. Prasidh Krishna, a spinner, took 3 wickets as well as an award winning wicket against RCB from GlennMaxwell. Krishna’s bowling performance was pretty economical. He also took Virat Kohli’s RCB Captain, a wicket for only 5 runs, ensuring he rose in rankings. 

During the match, he engaged in a powerplay by giving away 18 runs when bowling, thus allowing KKR to have an advantage over RCB. Furthermore, Andre Russell, an all-rounder, also joined Prasidh Krishna and Varun Chakaravarthy in the list by bagging nine wickets in the IPL 2021. 

Harshal Patel from RCB still leads the list of purple cap winners 2021. Furthermore, Patel is looking forward to widening the gap against second-positioned DC’s Avesh Khan and third-placed Chris Morris. Morris, the third-place purple cap holder and Rajasthan Royals player, is IPL’s most expensive player. In the seven games he played he took 14 wickets at an economy of 8.61.

IPL 2021 top 9 purple cap holders

Harshal Patel leads the purple cap leaderboard with 17 wickets in 8 matches. Avesh Khan takes up second place with 14 wickets in 8 matches. Chris Morris fills third place with 14 wickets in 7 matches. At the same time, the fourth position is taken up by Rahul Chahar’s ten wickets in 8 matches. The fifth position is taken up by Rashid Khan with 10 wickets in seven matches.

Varun Chakaravarthy takes the sixth position with 10 wickets in 8 matches. The seventh position goes to Deepak Chahar with 10 wickets in 8 matches. Trent Boult takes up the eighth position with 10 wickets in 8 matches. As you can see from above, positions six, seven, and eight have the same wickets and number of matches. Varun Chakaravarthy leads the list because he has a higher economic rate than Boult and Chahar. Sam Curran takes up the ninth position with nine wickets in 7 matches. 

 IPL 2021 Purple Cap rules

  • Purple Cap is given to the top wicket-taker in the season.
  • The bowler with the highest number of wickets in the tournament will wear the purple cap in the field during the season.
  • If there is a tie between two bowlers; the purple cap will be given to the one with the highest economic rate.

Varun was the player of the match in the game between KKR and RCB. His performance at that game ensured he rose into 6th position of purple cap holders.

Reference Links:

  1. https://www.insidesport.co/kkr-vs-rcb-in-ipl-2021-rcb-gets-bowled-out-for-only-92-runs-registers-second-lowest-total-in-uae/
  2. https://j99news.com/2021/09/20/kkrs-varun-chakaravarthy-jumps-to-the-top-6-list/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *