St Kitts and Nevis to Host 2021 Caribbean Premier League

Following the successful staging of CPL in Trinidad and Tobago, the country will also host the 9th series of the CPL set to start on August 28 to September 19 2021 . The tournament will comprise 33 matches to be hosted in Warner Park, St Kitts, and Nevis. Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, Trinbago Knight Riders, Barbados Tridents, St Kitts and Patriots, and St Lucia Zouks will be among the seven teams to participate in the tournament.

In a statement, Pete Russell was grateful to the government for agreeing to host CPL 2021 in St Kitts and Nevis. He furthered his gratitude to the West Indies for opening up the Window despite the busy summer. According to officials, the Caribbean Premier League will kick off after the West Indies completes its busy season with Pakistan, Australia, and South Africa.

On top of that, it will be after a long break due to the Covid-19 pandemic. South Africa will open the match with the home team, and the games include 5 T20IS and 2 Tests. After this, Australia will join in to play 3 ODIs and 5 T20Is. After this match, West Indies will be preparing for a game on July 27 against Pakistan. Again, the game will be comprised of 2 Tests and 5 T20Is.

As many fans are waiting for their favourite teams to win the Caribbean Premier League 2021, Trinbago Knight Riders remain the current CPL winners. This came to be when they beat St Lucia Zouks in the match that happened in 2020.

So far, Barbados Tridents has retained nine of its previous players, such as Jason Holder, Hope, Kyle Mayers, Raymon Reifer, Justin Greaves, Nyeem Young, and Joshua Bishop. Having recorded outstanding results, Dwayne Bravo (former captain of Trinbago Knight Riders) will be part of St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in the coming tournament.

The standing champions Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) have released Pravin Tambe, Tim Seifert, Fawad Ahmed, and Amir Jangoo and signed Denesh Ramdin on April 30. Moreover, St Lucia Zouks has retained 7 players from the squad that finished third on the points table last time round.

On the flip side, former West Indies skipper Darren Sammy will not participate in CPL 2021, as he decided not to play as a player but rather stay and concentrate on getting the youngsters ready for the upcoming 2021 season. Additionally, not all fans will get to watch the match live. However, only 50% capacity will be allowed at the CPL 2021 Venue. On top of that, they will have to display proof of Covid-19 vaccination to enter the stadium.

Stay tuned for more updates!

Reference Resource:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *