Guyana Amazon Warriors Retains Pooran

25, Guyana Amazon Warriors have released their retentions. Among the 11 players retained by the Warriors is the Trinidad and Tobago star Nicholas Pooran. Pooran has also been made the new captain of the Warriors team ahead of the season. The players retained are among those who guided the Warriors to the semi-finals of the 2020 event.

Pooran, who has been retained by GAW, made the only century of last year’s tournament, and he will be back with the Warriors this year alongside Shimron Hetmyer and Brandon King. These three players are expected to form the nucleus of the Amazon Warriors’ batting. Pooran, the left-handed wicketkeeper-batsman, made the only 100 of last year’s tournament while Shimron was brainer retention as he returns after a fruitful IPL season.

The Warriors will also be recalling South African leg spinner Imran Thir and Afghan fast bowler Naveen ul Haq. This comes as a surprise move as other CPL teams have released their overseas players. Additionally, youth Guyana spin duo Kevin Sinclair, who made his West Indies première in Bangladesh in January, and Ashmead Nedd are also back in the game. The remaining six positions will be announced in the coming weeks.

Reliable sources have affirmed that The Guyana Amazon Warriors have drafted Nial Smith and Gudakesh Motie for the 2021 Caribbean Premier League. Moreover, the five-time finalists have likewise earned the administrations of Afghanistan’s left-arm chinaman, Waqar Salamkhiel. Furthermore, according to sources, it’s probable Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik may get back to the establishment. However, there is a big name missing among the retained players who is Mujeeb ur Rahman. Rahman is the leading wicket-taker in 2020 with 16 wickets, and it’s as if he has been ignored.

In a statement, the Guyana Amazon Warriors administration team said they are happy to have retained their leading group players who comprised their squad over the previous two years. They also appreciated the recalled players for their loyalty and dedication to the Guyana Amazon Warriors. The team management also added that they hope that the majority of the being together of the players over the last 2 tournaments, the team unity, comradeship, and support for one another in working towards a common goal and purpose will bring the desired result of winning the CPL 2021.

For the 8-year history of the Caribbean Premier League, the Guyana Amazon Warriors have made it to five finals. Although, in those five times, they have never won the tournament. In the last season, the Warriors were in second place in the points table, but they did not reach the finals. They are hoping that the change in reign will bring more excellent fortune.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors retained players include Nicholas Pooran (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Imran Tahir, Naveen ul Haq, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmead Nedd, Gudakesh Motie, Nial Smith, and Waqar Salamkhiel.

Bookmark this page for more on your favorite teams and players.

Reference Resources:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *