CPL 2021 Draft Players: A List For Fans

The CPL (Caribbean Premier League) 2021 draft took place on 28th May 2021, with a lot of excitement in the days leading up to the draft. The CPL 2021 schedule, which was initially slated to begin on 28th August and end on 19th September, was slightly tweaked to accommodate the second phase of the IPL (Indian Premier League). The hero CPL 2021 is now penciled in from 28th August to 15th September in St Kitts and Nevis’s Warner Park. Due to the global COVID pandemic, the organizers have opted for a single venue to facilitate bio-secure bubble enforcement and other protocols to be put in place.

The six teams in the Hero CPL 2021 are Barbados Tridents, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, St Lucia Zouks, Jamaica Tallawah, Trinbago Knight Riders, and Guyana Amazon Warriors. The reigning champs are the Trinbago Knight Riders, who won all their matches in the group stage and play-offs in last year’s CPL. In the lead-up to the CPL 2021 draft, several big names were on the team’s radar, while some players were let go.

St Kitts and Nevis have snagged big fishes like Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo and Sri Lankan all-rounder Hasaranga Wahindu.

Trinbago Knight Riders have left Pravin Tumbe and Fawad Ahmed out of their draft list and included Nepalese wrist-spinner Lamichhane Sandeep. They will be captained by Kieron Pollard, the West Indies limited-overs skipper.

Guyana Amazon Warrior also released Khan Rashid and Mujeeb al Rahman to go for international duty. They will be playing for their national side, Afghanistan.

Chris Morris, the South-African all-rounder, was the headliner on the CPL draft players list for Barbados Tridents.

Notable players who lost their contracts are Seifert Tim, Nabi Mohammad, Kuggeleijn Scott, Green Chris, and Khan Rashid.

The complete CPL 2021 draft players list is as follows.

Trinbago Knight Riders

Kieron Pollard (Captain), Khan Ali, Phillip Anderson, Hoesin Akeal, Pierre Khary, Lamichhane Sandeep, Simmons Lendl, Munro Colin, Rampaul Ravi, Udana Isuru, Bravo Darren, Ramdin Denesh, Julian Leonardo, Seales Jayden, Raza Sikandar, and Narine Sunil.

Jamaica Tallawahs

James Joshua, Rovman Powell (Captain), Mansingh Abhijai, Persaud Ryan, Ali Haider, Edwards Fidel, Russell Andre, Mohammad Jason, Pretorius Migael, Walton Chadwick, Lewis Kennar, Zadran Ibrahim, Permaul Veerasammy, Brathwaite Carlos, Ahmed Qais, Mckenzie Kirk, and Shakib al Hasan.

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

Louis Mikyle, 

Archibald Colin, Gayle Chris, Joshua da Silva, Norte Anrich, Drakes Dominic, Rutherford Sherfane, Lewis Evin, Hasaranga Wanindu, Bravo Dwayne, Rayad Emrit (Captain), Cottrell Sheldon, Jaggesar Jon Russ, Allen Fabian, Thomas Devon, Louis Mikyle, Gurbaz Rahmanullah and Rassie Van der Dussen.

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Bramble Anthony, Smith Niall, Hetmyer Shimron, Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Malik Shoaib, Nedd Ashmeade, Shepherd Romario, Motie Gudakesh, Hafeez Mohammad, Tahir Imran, Hemraj Chandrapaul, King Brandon, Sinclair Kevin, Naveen Ul Haq, Smith Odean, and Salamkheil Waqar.

Barbados Tridents

Nurse Ashley, Jason Holder (Captain), Amir Mohammad, Thomas Oshane, Hope Shai, Charles Johnson, Mayers Kyle, Khan Azam, Patel Smit, Young Nyeem, Perera Thisara, Hayden Walsh Jr, Reifer Raymon, Morris Chris, Shafiqullah Ghafari, Greaves Justin, and Bishop Joshua

St Lucia Zouks

Deyal Mark, Alleyne Kadeem, Glen Javelle, Fletcher Andre, Qadir Usman, Patel Samit, Faf du Plessis (Captain), Williams Kesrick, McCoy Obed, Cornwall Rahkeem, Paul Keemo, Cottoy Keron, Royal Jeavor, Chase Roston, Joseph Alzarri, and Riaz Wahab.

Stay tuned for more from your favorite players and teams.

Reference Resource:

  • https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket/cpl-2021-draft-complete-list-players-retained-released-teams 
  • https://crickettimes.com/2021/05/cpl-2021-complete-squads-of-six-teams-after-players-draft/ 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *