Campher Chosen for South Africa ODIs

He Makes a Comeback to the Ireland Squad

The Irish Cricket team has announced their national team line-up for the upcoming limited-overs series against South Africa at Malahide. Ireland and South Africa will lock three ODIs and three T20Is from July 11. 

The line-up will see a return of Curtis Campher, who was recovering from ankle surgery that he underwent in May. The all-rounder has been out for a month following an injury sustained on Ireland Wolves’ duty earlier in the summer. His return to camp is a big boost for Ireland as they gear up for the three-match ODI series, which is a part of the ICC World Cup Super League. Campher replaced Kevin O’Brien after he announced his ODI retirement. However, O’Brien has been named to the T20I squad.

While Ireland has opted to retain most of the squad that faced the Netherlands last month, there has been an addition to the team. The other player called to the team include 21-year-old left-arm spinner Graham Kennedy, 

Senior top-order batter William Porterfield has been retained in the squad despite managing only five runs in two innings in the Netherlands. White says, “With the recent ODI retirement of Kevin O’Brien, the value of having the experience of William Porterfield in the set-up is as crucial as ever, and his recent form at inter-provincial level has demonstrated that he is still hungry to succeed.”

Ireland is currently 10th in the ICC men’s World Cup Super League with two wins from nine matches. Conversely, South Africa is 12th in the 13-team table with two wins from three matches. Teams in the top 10 at the end of the 2020-22 season will qualify for the 2023 World Cup.

Take a look at the ODI and T20I Squads:

ODI Squad:

Andrew Balbirnie (Captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Graham Kennedy, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Graeme McCarter, Barry McCarthy, William Porterfield, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

T20I Squad:

Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, William McClintock, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.


ODI series: 1st ODI – July 11, 2nd ODI – July 13, 3rd ODI – July 16 (all Malahide). 

T20I series: 1st T20I – July 19 (Malahide), 2nd T20I – July 22, 3rd T20I – July 24 (both Stormont)

Keep visiting Pure Win News for all the action, on and off the pitch.


Reference Resource:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *