Trinbago Knight Riders Sign Ravi Rampaul For 2021 CPL

Ravi Rampaul has been signed by the defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders. This marked a return to the Hero Caribbean Premier League for the veteran pacemaker. It also came to be after displaying an outstanding performance at the 2021 regional super50 Cup with Tobago and Trinidad. Despite staying for about four years without participating in the Caribbean Premier League, the team is delighted to have him, although it will be his first time to play for TKR in CPL 2021.

The last match to play in CPL was in 2014-2017 for Barbados Tridents. Apart from Ravi Rampaul, the franchise also added famous cricketers, including Isuru Udana and Leonardo Julien. Another player that was also signed in is the well-known battler Sandeep Lamichanne. The right arm first bowler has expressed his happiness for being chosen to play for TKR. He went ahead to express his joy about the team.

According to Rampaul, he is glad that the franchise retained the group and thus expected good performance. The most exciting part is that Rampaul finally decided to play for the Caribbean despite playing for Surrey and Derbyshire for the past two years and their years, respectively. As much as he will be joining the team, some players will not be part of the team for the tournament. For instance, the experienced all-rounder Dwayne Bravo will miss the match because he will be representing St Kitts and Nevis Patriots this season.

In return, the franchise traded Denesh Ramdin. Another thing that he appreciates is that the team members were retained for CPL 2021, although they could have shifted to new members during drafting. In addition, he also said that when they get together, they immediately start playing cricket and performing well since they now know each other well.

On top of that, he appreciates and admires the leadership qualities of the current TKR captain Pollard Kieron. The two will not have a hard time knowing each other since Pollard was the captain of the Bajan franchise when trident won CPL 2014 as he was the player.

He was also his captain when he was representing the TT Red Force team in Super50. For this reason, Rampaul was happy to meet again with Pollard and believes that they will work together to attain victory and retain success.

As Ravi Rampaul’s new team is preparing for the match, the government has imposed strict measures pertaining to outdoor exercises to contain covid-19. For that reason, Rampaul has prepared himself for home training to get set for the awaited match on August 28. The teams will play the 33 games of the 2021 CPL at Warner Park Stadium in Basseterre, St Kitts, on September 19. The squad includes; Kieron Pollard (captain), Sunil Narine (vice-captain), Colin Munro, Khary Pierre, Akeal Hosein, Leonardo Julien, Darren Bravo, Anderson Phillip, Ravi Rampaul, Jayden Seales, Tion Webster, Ali Khan, Isuru Udana, Lendl Simmons, and Sikandar Raza.

Reference Resource:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *