Sri Lanka Final Squad For T20 World Cup 2021

Sri Lanka national cricket team announced their final team for the T20 World Cup 2021. The ICC decided in its meetings that the T20 world cup 2021 will take place between October 17 to November 14, 2021, in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. This decision came after the tournament was postponed in Australia and India in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

 According to the ICC, the tournament will have four stages, namely:

-Round 1 under group 1 with teams such as Sri Lanka, Namibia, and the Netherlands 

-Round 2, group B, with teams such as Bangladesh, Papua New Guinea, Oman, and Scotland.

-Super 12s, Group 1, with teams such as West Indies, A1, Australia, and England 

-Super 12s, Group 2, with teams such as India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, and New Zealand.

The teams that will qualify after the super 12 will proceed to the semi-finals set to be played from 10 to November 11. the finals will follow on November 14, 2021.

The T20 world cup 2021 schedule for Sri Lanka has three matches in place. The first match will be against Namibia on October 18, 2021, at 1930hours, and it will be the 4th match under group A. the match will be played at sheikh Zayed stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The second match is against Ireland, at 1930 hours, on October 20, 2021, and it will take place at sheikh Zayed stadium in Abu Dhabi. It will be the 8th match in group A. The last match scheduled for Sri Lanka will be against the Netherlands on October 22, 2021, at 1930hours, played at Sharjah cricket stadium. It is the 12th match under Group A.

Sri Lanka is one of the teams that have a good chance of qualifying for the super 12. Sri Lanka, in their first-ever T20 world cup back in 2014 they defeated India .in 2019, they emerged as the runners-up after losing to Pakistan, and in 2012 they lost to the west indies. Having won 64.06% of their matches, they are at the best match to emerge as the winners in the tournament.

Sri Lanka announced the squad for the T20 world cup, and the probable squad was picked by considering important factors such as potential and combinations. With the approval of the minister of youth and sports, Namal Rajapaksa, the Sri Lanka cricket board announced the probable team.

The 15 member team consists of:

  1. Dasun Shanaka – Captain
  2. Dhananjaya De Silva – Vice-Captain
  3. Avishka Fernando
  4. Maheesh Theekshana
  5. Wanindu Hasaranga
  6. Kusal Janith Perera
  7. Dinesh Chandimal
  8. Charith Asalanka
  9. Praveen Jayawickrema
  10. Dushmantha Chameera
  11. Kamindu Mendis
  12. Nuwan Pradeep
  13. Lahiru Madushanka
  14. Bhanuka Rajapaksa
  15. Chamika Karunaratne

Due to the coronavirus restrictions, the team was allowed to pick only four stand-by players to travel with them to the United Arab Emirates. The reserves list can change at any time. They include:

  1. Binura Fernando.
  2. Pulina Tharanga
  3. Lahiru Kumara
  4. Akila Dananjaya.

Reference Links:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *