Mumbai IndiansMI 14 7 7 0
Chennai Super KingsCSK 14 9 5 0
Royal Challengers BangaloreRCB 14 9 5 0
Delhi CapitalsDC 14 10 4 0
Punjab KingsPK 14 6 8 0


Player Innings Runs
Virat Kohli 191 6076
Shikhar Dhawan 183 5577
Suresh Raina 195 5491
Rohit Sharma 202 5480
David Warner 148 5447

Orange Cap Holders in the history of Indian Premier League

Every year the top scorer in the Indian Premier League is awarded the Orange Cap for his batting performance at the end of the popular T20 tournament. As the batsmen compete with each other during the group stage of the IPL, their overall performance and final scorecard determine their chances of winning the coveted Orange Cap as the tournament progresses.  

Below is the list of Orange Cap Holders in IPL who have won the award in different seasons of the tournament over the years:

Australian batsman Shaun Marsh was the first Orange Cap Winner in IPL at the end of the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League in 2008. He was the highest run-scorer of the tournament with an aggregate of 616 runs in 11 innings while playing for the Punjab Kings.  

Another Australian cricketer Matthew Hayden won the Orange Cap in the next season of IPL in 2009. He scored 572 runs at an average of 52 and a strike rate of 144.81 while playing for Chennai Super Kings that year.   

One of the world’s best batsmen, Sachin Tendulkar was the proud winner of Orange Cap in the 2010 edition of the Indian Premier League. He scored 618 runs at an average of 47.53 including five half-centuries.

Chris Gayle, the prolific West Indies batsman was the consecutive winner of the Orange Cap in the 2011 and 2012 editions of the Indian Premier League. In 2011 he topped the batting charts with 608 runs in 12 innings at an amazing strike rate of 183.13. Gayle continued his terrific batting form in 2012 as well and scored 733 runs, a record for most runs scored in a season that year.

The 2013 IPL Orange Cap was won by Mike Hussey while playing for the Chennai Super Kings franchise. He scored 95 runs in 17 innings with six half-centuries and was crucial in taking CSK to the finals.

Kolkata Knight Riders‘ Robin Uthappa won the Orange Cap 2014 season of IPL after scoring 660 runs. His scintillating performance won the IPL trophy for KKR that season.

The record for winning the IPL Orange Cap for the maximum number of times has gone to Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner. He was the highest run-scorer in the 2015, 2017, and 2019 editions of the Indian Premier League tournament.  

The Orange Cap for the 2016 edition of IPL was won by Virat Kohli of Royal Challengers Bangalore. He scored 973 runs in 16 innings at an average of 81.08, a record for scoring the most runs in a single season of IPL.

Kane Williamson won the Orange Cap in the 2018 season of IPL when he scored 735 runs with eight half-centuries. He scored these runs at an average of 52.50 and a strike rate of 142.44.

At the end of the 2020 season of IPL, KL Rahul of Kings XI Punjab won the Orange Cap by scoring 670 runs from 14 innings at an average of 55.83. 

Reference Resource: 

  1. https://www.crictracker.com/orange-cap-holders-in-ipl-history/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *