CPL 2021 will see DJ Bravo and Sherfane Rutherford playing for St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

Caribbean Premier League 2021 promises to be an exciting tournament and cricket fans worldwide are waiting to watch some thrilling cricketing action on the field by their favorite teams and players. CPL 2021 came into existence in 2013 and has become a great entertainment extravaganza like the Indian Premier League. 

The exotic locations of the Caribbean Islands beckon cricket fans from all over the world for CPL matches but the COVID19 pandemic has curtailed viewership in cricket stadiums due to strict safety protocols and social distancing norms. 

The seven teams competing in the CPL 2021 are Trinbago Knight Riders, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Barbados Royals (previously Barbados Tridents), Jamaica Tallawahs, Saint Lucia Kings, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, and Antigua Hawksbills 

The list of teams, match fixtures, and venues for Caribbean Premier League 2021 has been announced for the upcoming ninth season. The event is going to feature some of the best cricketers in the world and young talent from all over the Caribbean.

The Hero CPL 2021 kicks off from 26th August with the final match CPL 2021 scheduled for 15th September 2021. Due to the COVID19 restrictions, all matches will be played in Warner Park stadium in St. Kitts & Nevis. The government of St. Kitts & Nevis has issued limited permits for fans into the stadium to watch the tournament provided they are fully vaccinated.  

West Indies star all-rounders DJ Bravo and Sherfane Rutherford are all set to join and play for St Kitts and Nevis Patriots franchise in the upcoming season of Caribbean Premier League 2021. St Kitts & Nevis Patriots have included some newly signed players in the squad while announcing their retention list for the CPL 2021 season. The team management has included prolific players DJ Bravo from Trinbago Knight Riders and Sherane Rutherford from Guyana Amazon Warriors in the squad based on their excellent performance in the previous seasons of CPL.

Dwayne John Bravo is an all-rounder and former captain of the West Indies cricket team. He is a right-handed and right-arm medium-fast bowler. His aggressive batting in the middle order and splendid bowling spells have won him many accolades. Bravo has played 40 Test matches, 164 One Day Internationals, and 66 Twenty20 Internationals for the West Indies. He was quite instrumental in the West Indies team that won the 2012 ICC World T20 and 2016 ICC World T20 trophies.

Sherfane Rutherford from Guyana made his international debut for the West Indies cricket team in December 2018. He was named in the Cricket West Indies B Team squad for the inaugural edition of the Global T20 Canada tournament in June 2018. He made his Twenty20 debut for Guyana Amazon Warriors in the 2018 Caribbean Premier League on 9 August 2018. The hard-hitting 20-year-old Sherfane Rutherford was the leading run-scorer for the Windies B team in the Global T20 league scoring 230 runs in eight matches and his stellar performance in the tournament also earned him a Caribbean Premier League contract. Get all the latest sports news including tennis, cricket, table tennis, olympics and football only on Pure Win News.

Reference Resource:

  1. https://sportsdigest.in/dj-bravo-and-sherfane-rutherford-will-be-playing-for-the-st-kitts-and-nevis-patriots-in-cpl-2021/15410/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *