Check out the 15 Member Squad Announced by Oman for the T20 World cup 2021

Oman is the co-host of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. The management proclaimed their squad consisting of 15 members for the tournament held on September 8, 2021. In that, they would be playing in the initial round for qualifying the main draw.  Looking at the schedule, the T20 World cup 2021 tournament will be organised from October 17 to November 14, 2019. The tournament will be held in Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi, apart from Oman.

Before the T20 World Cup, Oman will take on India’s domestic giants Mumbai in the T20 series and ODI. Moreover, the limited-overs leg played against Mumbai would assist the hosts to get ready for the ICC tournament.

The T20 World Squad of Oman will be guided by the veteran Zeeshan Maqsood. The squad also displays the core group of the seasoned line-up, which assisted them to outshine in the Global Qualifier, two years before, in the UAE.

In this squad consisting of the 11 players, to make it more successful and qualifying one, some more players, namely Nester Dhamba, Ayaan Khan, Sufyan Mehmood and Khurram Khan, are added. These players have got call-ups to be added to the team for World Cup 2021. Also, the squad will include spinners like Aamir Kaleem and Jay Odedra.

Nestor Dhamba and Aayan Khan show up a novel look for spin attack for Oman. These players have joined a leg-spinning all-rounder named Khawar Ali. Ali is especially known for his batting skills. Furthermore, Sufyan has been on the peripheries of the national team. He played four T20Is throughout the cricket international career spanning 6 years.

Through batting, Oman is putting together their experience, as Jatinder Singh joins Khawar Ali. On the other hand, the captain, Zeeshan Maqsood, and Aqib Ilyas were appointed for middle-order roles. Two all-rounders namely Sandeep Goud and Mohammad Nadeem will perhaps partner Suraj Kumar in the concluding overs.

In 2016, Oman reached the topmost level of T20I cricket. During that time, the team made it to the initial round of the T20 World cup 2021 in India. This time, they are likely to perform even better and expect to reach the two topmost spots in Group B. This will be alongside Scotland, Bangladesh and Papua New Guinea, playing each of their matches in well-known home conditions.

While hosting forthcoming ODIs as part of the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, Oman has been alerted for the smallest format through hosting a Mumbai domestic side.

Oman T20 World Cup Squad Includes the Following Names:

  • Zeeshan Maqsood
  • Aqib Ilyas
  • Jatinder Singh
  • Khawar Ali
  • Mohammad Nadeem
  • Ayaan Khan
  • Suraj Kumar
  • Sandeep Goud
  • Nestor Dhamba
  • Kaleemullah
  • Bilal Khan
  • Naseem Khushi
  • Sufyan Mehmood
  • Fayyaz Butt
  • Khurram Khan

This squad of 15 players is competent enough to let the team perform better in the T20 world cup in UAE. All of them possess one or the other distinctive skills to excel personally and as a team.

Reference Resource: 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *