Where is the European Open Tennis being played?

Lawn tennis has its origin in Birmingham, England. However, the most extensive ATP World Tour is in Belgium and started in the 19th century. The fifth edition was held in October 2020 in Antwerp in the Lotto Arena. In 2021, just like the other years, the European Open will bring together big names in Tennis globally and from Belgium. The tournament features both singles and doubles competitions. Here are the details of the sixth edition venue and schedule.

The Venue

The Lotto Arena has once again got the honor to host the 2021 European Open. The tournament is back in Antwerp and will run from the 17th of October to the 24th of October 2021. The opening ceremony will happen under the surveillance of tournament director and Belgian tennis legend Dick Norman. 

Due to the pandemic, the Arena will hold only a capacity of 30% (4800 people) to ensure everyone’s safety. However, fans need to have the Belgian Safe Ticket to attend the event. The event’s main sponsors are Jaguar, Emirates, PSA, City of Antwerp, Sport Vlaanderen, and the Port of Antwerp. In addition, the prize money for the winner of this year’s tournament is 635,750 €.

Who is participating, and Who are Winners of the Previous Editions?

The 2021 European Open has attracted some of the biggest names in the world and Belgium. The tournament started in the year 2016, and that makes 2021 the sixth edition of the tournament. The tournament will include

  • 28 players singles draw,
  • 16 players doubles draw
  • 16 players qualification draw

 Here is the player’s entry list for the European Open Antwerp 2021.

Participants and their ATP ranking

  • Andy Murray, United Kingdom 
  • Felix Auger from Canada ranked 11th 
  • Jannik Sinner Italy ranked 14th.
  • Diego Schwartzman, Argentina 
  • Pablo Carreno Busta, Spain 16th
  • Christian Garin, Chile 17th
  • Reilly Opelka, USA 19th
  • Alex De Minaur, Australia 21st
  • Ugo Humbert, France 26th
  • Cameron Norrie, United Kingdom 28th
  • Grigor Dimitrous, Bulgaria 29th
  • Lloyd Harris, South Africa 31st
  • John Millman, Australia 48
  • Ramos Vinolas from Spain 46th
  • Federico Delbonis, Argentina 44th
  • Marton Fucsovics from Hungary 41
  • Alejandro Davidovich Fokina, Spain 45th
  • Fabio Fognini from Italy 32
  • Dusan Lajovic, Serbia 35th
  • Nikoloz Basilashvili, Georgia 36th

Several players have won the title from the inception of the tournament. Here are the singles and doubles winners list, starting with the most recent one.


  • 2020-Ugo Humbert
  • 2019– Andy Murray
  • 2018-Kyle. Edmund
  • 2017– Jo. Wilfried. Tsonga
  • 2016-Richard Gasquet


  • 2020– J. Peers and M. Venus
  • 2019-K. Krawietz and A. miles
  • 2018-N. Mahut and Roger Vasselin
  • 2017-S. Lipsky and D. Sharan
  • 2016– D. Nestor and E. Roger Vasselin

The most awaited sixth European Open is almost here. The tournament will be hosting renowned players in the world. The good news is that the fans are allowed to watch the event live as it happens. So, you can buy your ticket early to reserve yourself space in the Lotto Arena for the event. However, note that WHO COVID-19 regulations will be followed to the letter. In addition, remember that the Belgian Safe Ticket is compulsory for anyone to attend the event. 

Reference Links:

  1. https://tennisuptodate.com/atp/2021-european-open-antwerp-entry-list-with-auger-aliassime-bautista-agut-and-andy-murray
  2. https://tennium.com/european-open/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *