ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners (2007- Present)

The T20 world cup ICC men’s tournament was earlier referred to as ICC World Twenty 20, and it is the international championship of twenty 20 international cricket. It is organized by the Cricket governing body, the international cricket council. ECB marketing manager Stuart Robertson was the first person to come up with the idea of such a tournament. That is after he saw massive success in domestic tournaments. 

The tournament is held every two years. The first edition was born in 2007, followed by 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, and the last one in 2016. The next edition is expected to take place in 2021. This is after it was postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic. The current champions are the West Indies. Who is also the most successful team holding two titles? The best player is Mahela Jayewardene of Sri Lanka, who is the player with the most runs. 

Winner per year

  • The T20 world cup tournament was held in South Africa, where India won against Pakistan in 2007. India won by 5 runs in this match.
  • In 2009, Pakistan won the tournament. They played against Sri Lanka, and Pakistan won by eight wickets in the match held in England. 
  • England won against Australia in 2010 in the match held in the West Indies. England won by seven wickets.
  • The games played in 2012, West Indies defeated Sri Lanka in their home ground. West Indies won by 36 runs.
  • Sri Lanka won against India during the 2014 world cup held in Bangladesh. They won by six wickets.
  • During the 2016 world cup, England lost to the West Indies. West Indies won by four wickets.

Game rules

Twenty20 cricket rules are the same as those of traditional one-day 40 and 50 –over cricket matches. However, each team is allowed one innings to try and score as many runs as they can within a period of 120 balls [20 overs]. These rules give T20 games a fresh, exciting edge compared to the traditional cricket one-day game. The well-known rules include:

  • The free hit-the bowler is penalized if he delivers no-ball by overstepping his mark. He is not given out for delivery unless he is run out.
  • 75-minute time limits –this is where bowling teams are forced to complete their 20 overs within 75 minutes. This rule aims to maintain the pace and rhythm of the T20 game.
  • Bowl outs-it takes place at the end of tied T20 matches. Five bowlers from each side bowl twice at the wicket, with no batter standing in the way. The winning team is that which topples most wickets.
  • Fielding restrictions of T20– the cricket’s laws only allow five fielders to stand on the batsman’s leg side at any one time. You can only have two fielders outside of the inner circle of the first six overs of play. 
  • Five run penalties– One team may be awarded 5 bonus runs by the if he feels the opposition is wasting time. The aim is to maintain the flow and pace of a T20 game.

Reference Links:

  1. https://www.realbuzz.com/articles-interests/sports-activities/article/the-rules-of-twenty20-cricket/#:~:text=The%20laws%20of%20Twenty20%20cricket,20%20overs%20(120%20balls)
  2. https://www.britannica.com/sports/Twenty20-cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *