Pakistani players in Caribbean Premier League 2021

Pakistani players in CPL 2021 should not come as a shocker as the nation is known for producing formidable players that can send chills down the spine of even the most seasoned cricketers!

With that stated, in the upcoming CPL 2021, Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir will be the Pakistani Players in CPL 2021 that will take place in Nevis and St Kitts later this year.

Shoaib Malik will be returning to play for the Guyana Amazon Warriors. In this context, it is best to keep in mind that he helped this team to lead way back in the CPL seasons 2018 and 2019.

Amir on the other hand will be participating in the CPL for the first time by playing for the Barbados Tridents.

Malik previously was given the role of captain for the Amazon Warriors every time he was part of the team in every single game to date but not this year as the team will have Nicholas Pooran as its captain. In CPL 2020, Chris Green played the role of the captain for Amazon Warriors who helped the team reach the semi finals.

With that stated, it is best to note that Malik has shown the best T20 form only after he started playing in the Caribbean Premier League matches. It is apparent from his average scores that stand at a remarkable 43.60 batting average and 15.66 bowling average.

Amir, on the other hand, will be in uncharted waters as CPL is new for him which is less of a surprise considering his retirement from international cricket that was announced last year. Since then, Amir took part in T20 leagues held in nations like – 

  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka and
  • England.

He has been successful in taking 161 out of 220 wickets in domestic T20 matches held all over the globe.

In other sport news, the formidable leg spinner from Nepal, Sandeep Lamichhane will be teaming up with the Trinbago Knight Riders – the defending champions. Sandeep has played for 3 separate CPL teams held in the last 3 seasons.

Reference Resource :


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *