South Africa Beat Sri Lanka by 10 Wickets in the 3rd T20I

Sri Lanka met South Africa for the 3rd T20I series in Colombo, where both the teams battled to emerge the best but, there can only be one winner. In this case, South Africa beat Sri Lanka again after winning the 1st and 2nd T20Is. The three-match series took place on 14th September 2021, with South Africa taking the sweep at 3-0.

South Africa vs. Sri Lanka match kicked off with an inspired bowling technique from Quinton de Kock and his counterpart Reeza Hendricks. The duo made South Africa ahead of the hosts in the 3rd T20Is with ten wickets win. According to the 2021 schedule, the match happened on Tuesday 14th. South Africa had made a target of 121, and they took home 14.4 overs as de Kock took on 59. Hendricks managed to make 56 during the series in Colombo.

During the South Africa tour of Sri Lanka, the host decided to bat first. This decision restricted them to a 120-8 after South Africa’s Kagiso Rabada and Bjorn Fortuin took two wickets. After that, Hendrick s and Quinton de Kock decided to form the most robust South Africa’s T20I partnership. The partnership was 121 for any wicket made against Sri Lanka; this shows that they dominated the game after winning nine wickets earlier.

After Quinton had made a record during the 2nd T20I, he decided to make his fifty higher in 40 balls, and then he planned an attack against Sri Lanka’s bowlers. In addition, Hendricks managed to record his seventh T20I half-century, and he added five fours and one six in 42 balls. 

South Africa was not ready to relent as their bowlers set the win after Rabada made a top order with his pace. Rabada managed to bowl Rajapaksa for five and send back Fernando for 12. As the match progressed, Fortuin managed to get two key wickets, and Perera scored 39 before he failed in stopping Keshav Maharaj. The results were disappointing for Sri Lanka and its players like Dasun Shanaka, who previously won 2-1 in the ODI series.

Reference Link:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *