Teams with the Best Performances in ICC T20 World Cup

Although the T20 World Cup is a relatively new format, it has a background of seven seasons with six distinct winners behind it. The only team that has won the title multiple times is West Indies. With Australia as the new World T20 World Cup winners, we look at the top 5 performing teams participating in the tournament since its beginning from the year 2007.

  • West Indies (Winners – 2012, 2016)

West Indies were the defending champions of the T20 World Cup 2021. They won a memorable final-over win on the pitch at the Eden Gardens in the World Cup T20 International final v/s England in the year 2016. This was due to an outstanding batting performance by Carlos Braithwaite. This match will be remembered in the top ten most famous events in the history of cricket.

West Indies are the most successful team in the T20 World cup, with 2-wins to their name. They won their first trophy in 2012 and then the second in the year 2016.

  • Australia (Winner – 2021)

Australia has always been a formidable force in international cricket, having up to five ODI World Cup trophies and the latest T20 World Cup under their belt. It is, however, surprising to learn that the Australians had not taken home the World T20 Trophy earlier.

The best performance of Australia came in the 2021 T20 World Cup. They won the final against New Zealand to claim the trophy. Interestingly, they had been knocked off the field in Round 2 of the previous tournaments (2014 and 2016).

  • England (Winners from 2010)

England took home their first ICC World Cup in the third edition of the World T20 in 2010. The West Indies hosted the tournament, which was attended by 15 nations. The final was between England and Australia at Bridgeton, where England had easily chased the target given by Australia, a total of just 147 to claim the trophy.

  • India (Winners 2007)

Team India won the trophy in the inaugural tournament of the T20 World Cup back in 2007. But, unfortunately, the men in blue haven’t had a lot of luck at the most compact format of the World Cup after that.

Team India has been knocked out after Round 2 in 2009, 2010, 2012, 2009, and the 2021 editions. They made it to the 2014 T20 World Cup finals but were beaten by Sri Lanka, who ended up with the trophy. India lost at the quarter-finals stage of last year’s T20 World Cup in 2016 because of a defeat against the West Indies.

  • New Zealand (Finalist – 2021)

New Zealand doesn’t have an excellent track record in the T20 World Cup. Although the country has been in the tournament in all its editions to date, the best they’ve had is reaching the finals in 2021 and the semi-finals of 2016 and 2007. In addition, the Kiwis were eliminated in the second round in each of the other tournaments of the World T20.

In the recent tournament, New Zealand was a different team. They were confident of their performance in recent times. The team also had the right mix of strike bowlers within their squad. Sadly, they lost the final to Australia.

Reference Links:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *